installing new memory on an imac g3

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by gohome190, May 21, 2010.

  1. gohome190 macrumors regular

    gohome190

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2007
    #1
  2. wickedking94 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    #2
    I could be wrong, but the only thing that makes sense to me is Bad ram.
    What iMac g3 is it? is it a tray loading or a slot loading.
    Most tray loading imacs only support a total of 512mb (2x 256mb)
     
  3. 4JNA macrumors 68000

    4JNA

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Location:
    looking for trash files
    #3
    because from the auction listing...

    low density is the only ram that will work. the difference is in the chips on the ram module.

    it might be more expensive to get it from someone like OWC, but it will at least work. best of luck.
     
  4. California macrumors 68040

    California

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    #4
    I think I have some 128mb chips from an iMac g3 laying around if you want 'em.
     
  5. gohome190 thread starter macrumors regular

    gohome190

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2007
    #5
    thats okay, i currently have 256 in it.

    But... would these two high density sticks work in an imac g4? Because I'd really like to sell my g3 and buy a g4, they are awesome.

    Thanks for the tips!
     
  6. MacHamster68 macrumors 68040

    MacHamster68

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    #6
    sorry high density ram only works on some pc's with certain motherboard configurations , read some , thats why high density ram is so cheap , because it only works on 1 out of a million computers or so
    and it does not on a G3 and it wont work on a G4 iMac either
     
  7. iThinkergoiMac macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Location:
    Terra
    #7
    You're probably better off buying an Intel Mac if you can afford it. Most of the G4 computers are listed as obsolete by Apple as it is...
     

Share This Page