Installing new RAM?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by musiclvr, Oct 13, 2011.

  1. musiclvr macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2011
    #1
    I am getting my new iMac tomorrow with the standard 4GB (2x2) of memory. I have already bought 16GB of ram to install (4x4) so my question is do I remove the 4GB already in there before installing my new ram I just bought? I've never installed new ram in a computer so I am kind of unsure of the process.
     
  2. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #3
    You need to remove the stock RAM because iMac has only four RAM slots and 16GB (4x4GB) will use all four.
     
  3. AcesHigh87 macrumors 6502a

    AcesHigh87

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Location:
    New Brunswick, Canada
    #4
    As said, there are 4 slots in the iMac so you do need to remove the 4GB already in there. Just pop those 2 sticks out, pop your four in, and enjoy your 16GB of RAM.
     
  4. musiclvr thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2011
    #5
    Thanks for the help!

    So can I use that 4GB I am taking out and put it in my Macbook Air? Is it compatible with that, is it more difficult to install in a laptop than a desktop?
     
  5. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #6
    MBA's RAM is soldered onto the logic board and cannot be upgraded.
     
  6. musiclvr thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2011
    #7
    Shoot I didn't realize that. Thanks for letting me know.
     

Share This Page