Installing on Boot Camp using I386

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by pianoplayer1, Jan 10, 2008.

  1. pianoplayer1 macrumors 6502

    pianoplayer1

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2005
    Location:
    New York
    #1
    Hi. I am going to get a new Mac Pro very soon and have a question about XP and Bootcamp. A while back I got Virtual PC for Mac and was wondering if I could use the I386 folder from the disk 2 to install on the mac. Wow this second I just found this link!

    http://lists.apple.com/archives/Fed-talk/2006/Jul/msg00050.html

    Would this be the proper way to do it? I still have the Windows Product Key, however I lost disk 1 of the Virtual Pc (I dont think I need it tho).

    EDIT: I guess I have to go to a Windows PC to work on it.
     
  2. polishmacuser macrumors 6502a

    polishmacuser

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #2
    windows virtual pc does not work with a intel mac so try parallels or vmware if you want to virtualize it if not then bootcamp it oh wait sorry i read the wrong part of your story lol *stupid me :D
     
  3. pianoplayer1 thread starter macrumors 6502

    pianoplayer1

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2005
    Location:
    New York
    #3
    Yes I would like to use XP Home that came with Virtual PC and run it directly on boot camp when I get my mac. The problem is that its in an "I386" folder. Go check out the link I posted.

    I have Virtual PC 5 and this link says something interesting about how the bundled XP is not SP2. I thought that slipstreaming SP2 (from the 1st link) will take care of this. Will it?

    2nd link: http://www.tech-archive.net/Archive/Mac/microsoft.public.mac.virtualpc/2007-12/msg00017.html
     
  4. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #4
    Ok this step looks fine.

    Wait why don't we just use this disc in the first place?

    Otherwise you're going through the same procedures to slipstream a disc. Do you have another Windows XP disc?
     
  5. pianoplayer1 thread starter macrumors 6502

    pianoplayer1

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2005
    Location:
    New York
    #5
    My Dad has XP machines at his office, but he doesn't keep track of install CDs and such. It would be impossible for me to find one there, but I can use his PC to do the slipstreaming stuff.

    I'm still a Leopard fan xD. Just wanna be able to use the XP once in a while.
     

Share This Page