Installing OS X 10.4 on PB Ti G4

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by PJohnson, Jan 30, 2008.

  1. PJohnson macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    #1
    I just got a PB G4 and I want to install Tiger over 9.2.2

    Should I wipe clean the hard disk first or just put the disk in and go?

    There is nothing I want on the hard disk and I can't even get IE5 to work properly. It also won't connect to my wireless network running WEP.

    So... I want OS X

    What should I do to prepare for a good install experience?

    Thanks,
    Phil
     
  2. Bakkalohriat Guest

    Bakkalohriat

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #2
    In short, pop in the disk and go. While erasing the disk will provide added security for the old data (i.e. will make it harder for forensic recovery), the installation process will likely overwrite most of the space currently being used regardless. Apple keeps it simple for you, just follow the on-screen instructions and you can't go wrong.
     
  3. PJohnson thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    #3
    Cool, thanks for the reply.

    I will be using the disk from my wifes MBPro as she has upgraded.

    Is there anything I should be prepared for since it's not a store bought copy?

    Phil
     
  4. Bakkalohriat Guest

    Bakkalohriat

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #4
    I've never actually used that install disk, but from what I understand it's the same as store bought.
     
  5. PJohnson thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    #5
    :( Something isn't working right...

    When the PB restarts/boots from the install disk it goes into a gray screen with some text. The top of the page says:

    panic(cpu 0 caller 0x002E5568): Unable to find driver for this platform: "PowerBook3,3"

    I have an idea what this probably means... Anyone have any help here?

    Phil
     
  6. Reflow macrumors 68000

    Reflow

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Location:
    NJ/PHL
    #6
    Is this the retail disks or the restore disk? If you used the restore disks it will not work.
     
  7. PJohnson thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    #7
    I was given this set of disks by my IT guy at work. He told me used them to install to another G4, so....

    Is there a way to bypass the CD drive on boot up?

    Thanks,
    Phil
     
  8. Reflow macrumors 68000

    Reflow

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Location:
    NJ/PHL
    #8

    Are they gray or black cd’s? The gray one's are machine specific and the black one are retail.
     
  9. PJohnson thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    #9
    Bummer.... they're gray.

    ok, so I need to get the disc out and the emergency eject hole on the cd drive doesn't work.

    How can I boot up the machine, bypassing the CD?

    Phil
     
  10. stevegmu macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Location:
    A stone's throw from the White House.
    #10
    Try holding down the D key during re-boot.
     
  11. PJohnson thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    #11
    SWEET!

    Thanks. I knew there had to be a way.

    Is there a way to use these disks to install OS X?

    Phil
     
  12. stevegmu macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Location:
    A stone's throw from the White House.
    #12
    I don't think there is any way to install the grey disks on a model they weren't meant for. See if the guy you got them from will exchange them for the correct one, or burn you a copy of the retail version.
     
  13. PJohnson thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    #13
    Yeah, that's what I was kinda thinking I would have to do.

    I think I read about using the PB as a target and running the install off a newer machine (wife's MBPro). Would that work.

    Phil
     
  14. stevegmu macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Location:
    A stone's throw from the White House.
    #14
  15. trainguy77 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    #15
    It still won't work. It doesn't change the contents of the disks.
     
  16. stevegmu macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Location:
    A stone's throw from the White House.
    #16
    Yeah, I guess there is no workaround for that problem, other than to use a retail, or correct version.
     
  17. PJohnson thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    #17
    So this message:
    panic(cpu 0 caller 0x002E5568): Unable to find driver for this platform: "PowerBook3,3"

    probably means that the disks are for Intel machines and won't work on earlier models?

    Phil
     
  18. stevegmu macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Location:
    A stone's throw from the White House.
    #18

    That appears to be the case.
     

Share This Page