Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

raylang

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 4, 2014
Running OSX 10.9.1 on a Mac mini. I used Python 2.7.6 Mac OS X 64-bit/32-bit x86-64/i386 Installer, downloaded from http://www.python.org/download/, to install python with idle. I ran the Update Shell Profile.command in the Python 2.7 folder. Idle gives a warning on startup:

>>> WARNING: The version of Tcl/Tk (8.5.9) in use may be unstable.
Visit http://www.python.org/download/mac/tcltk/ for current information.

According to that, I needed Tcl/Tk 8.5.15 or later (I have no experience with that package) I downloaded ActiveTcl8.6.1.1.297588-macosx10.5-i386-x86_64-threaded from ActiveState, but Idle gives the same error on startup.

My goal is to learn python and pygame. I have successfully installed:

pygame-1.9.1release-python.org-32bit-py2.7-macosx10.3

I'm not a new programmer, but I am new to python and inexperienced at Mac installs that go beyond double-clicking a single install file or dragging an icon into a folder (in other words, I haven't done anything like a build from the command line), but evidently I'm missing a step here. I'm also new to these forums and appreciate any suggestions. Thanks for your patience with these newbie questions.

edwardIn

macrumors newbie
Aug 6, 2011
Similar Python question

I have a similar question about Python and Pygame. I downloaded and installed pygame, but when I run a script which includes "import pygame", I get an ImportError saying "No module named 'pygame.'"

I'm running Python 3.3. I noticed on my hard drive I have a folder named 'Python.' In it are sub-folders named 2.3, 2.5, 2.6, and 2.7. The 2.7 folder has a folder named 'site-packages.' It has a 'pygame' folder in it. I wonder if the Python 3.3 I run does not look at the 2.7 folder for modules?

Thank you for any assistance.

Ed

ArtOfWarfare

macrumors G3
Nov 26, 2007