Installing RAM, easy or not?

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by mikebatho, Feb 3, 2011.

1. mikebatho, Feb 3, 2011
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2011

mikebatho macrumors 6502a

Just got a second hand macbook, white model (see attached pic)

I keep hearing how easy it is to put in extra ram (I wanna go from 1 to 2 GB)

Is it easy enough fro a complete novice to attempt on this model?

I had a look on google, but there seemed to be a lot of different macbook body types.

If it is easy, and I decide to go ahead, can anyone suggest a cheap source for the Ram its'elf? eBay, Amazon?

Also, seeing as I hope to be running Photoshop, should I change the graphics card?

Cheers guys!

Attached Files:

2. alust2013 macrumors 601

alust2013

It's easy enough, there are plenty of guides on ifixit.com, and based on you having 1GB to begin with, you have one of the non-unibody models. You could get the RAM on amazon or ebay if you like, although since prices are pretty cheap at the moment, I'd check out crucial.com and buy it straight from there. The graphics card cannot be changed, however, so you are stuck with what you've got. That won't be an issue for photoshop, so no need to worry. You'll need DDR2 667MHz laptop memory to upgrade, and I believe the max you can do is one 2GB chip and one 1GB chip

3. SandboxGeneral Moderator

SandboxGeneral

Staff Member

It's very easy. You just take the battery out and then use a #00 phillips screwdriver and remove a small thin aluminum plate that covers the chips. Then pull the chips out by the pull tabs and insert the new ones. Really simple.

4. iThinkergoiMac macrumors 68030

3 GB is the max, but it does work with 2x2 GB. It's just more expensive, though you do get the dual channel effect. Not worth it IMO, but it does work.

5. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

CanadaRAM

There are 2 key things to know.
    First- to orient the RAM the correct way --- check the RAM that comes out and you'll see that the slot in the contact edge is offset to one side.