installing RAM, now mbp won't start...

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by kingshrubb, Sep 4, 2008.

  1. kingshrubb macrumors regular

    kingshrubb

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    #1
    I bought RAM from OWC item code OWC53C4DDR2S2GB

    I took my apple ram out and installed owc ram using apples guide and the mbp makes 3 beeps continuously when I try to power it on now. I triedit over again and the beeps are gone- now it just won't start. What the **** is going on?
     
  2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #2
    Did you make sure the RAM modules are seated properly? Many have had the problem that they didn't push them far enough in.
     
  3. TEG macrumors 604

    TEG

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Location:
    Langley, Washington
    #3
    Likely the RAM is...

    Not seated properly
    The Wrong Speed
    or
    The PMU/PRAM needs to be reset.

    TEG
     
  4. kingshrubb thread starter macrumors regular

    kingshrubb

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    #4
    Crap I think I had my mbp on sleep when installing it not off is that rly bad?
     
  5. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #5
    I searched their site and couldn't find that particular RAM. Do you have a link?
     
  6. kingshrubb thread starter macrumors regular

    kingshrubb

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    #6
    http://eshop.macsales.com/item/Other World Computing/53C4DDR2P4GB/

    I got it to work btw (I'm actually posting on MBP and not iPhone :D )

    It doesn't seem faster though--it almost feels slower. should I reset the ram or something like was said earlier in this thread?
     
  7. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #7
    Did you take the battery out and unplug the laptop? :rolleyes:
     
  8. kingshrubb thread starter macrumors regular

    kingshrubb

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    #8
    yes.

    Btw your avatar looks like something from a Studio Ghibli film. If it is then I /salute you.
     
  9. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #9
    OWC53C4DDR2P4GB: that explains why I couldn't find it! :)
    Does it just "feel" slower, or have you run any benchmark tests to be sure?
     
  10. kingshrubb thread starter macrumors regular

    kingshrubb

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    #10
    Ya sry I was typing from my iPhone :eek:.

    Well I just ran WoW and the fps seems a bit higher. Maybe like 20 fps higher.
     
  11. kingshrubb thread starter macrumors regular

    kingshrubb

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    #11
    Is there someway I can test my new RAM to make sure it is working efficiently and as best as it can? Any program?
     
  12. kingshrubb thread starter macrumors regular

    kingshrubb

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    #13
  13. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #14
    I'd be more concerned about Page Outs during application usage then running synthetic benchmarks. :confused:
     
  14. majordude macrumors 68020

    majordude

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Location:
    Hootersville
    #15
    You didn't upgrade the CPU, just the memory. Your computer will run faster with more memory than less when you start maxing out the memory and it wants to start swapping resources.

    Open a bunch of huge files in Photoshop and you can tell that more memory is better!
     

Share This Page