Installing RAM on brand new MBP

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by iWurzel, Jun 27, 2011.

  1. iWurzel macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Location:
    Swansea
    #1
    Hi All

    My new MBP is being delivered tomorrow, and I have already purchased 2 x 4GB RAM sticks to put in it to upgrade from 4GB to 8GB.

    Question – can I install this before I even turn on the MacBook for the first time, i.e. straight out of the box, or should I power it on and get it all up and running first?

    Thanks
     
  2. daneoni macrumors G4

    daneoni

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
  3. awer25 macrumors 65816

    awer25

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    #3
    You don't need to power it up. Before my first power up, I disassembled the whole thing to reapply better thermal paste, did the optibay/SSD install, and upgraded the RAM too. I would have been pretty mad if it didn't start up though ;)
     
  4. fat jez macrumors 68000

    fat jez

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
    #4
    If it were me, I'd make sure it booted up OK before installing any RAM, or you are into the realms of proving it wasn't your installation that broke it. From a technical point of view, it doesn't matter at all though.
     
  5. atlanticza macrumors 6502a

    atlanticza

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Location:
    Cape Town
    #5
    Good idea.
     
  6. iWurzel thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Location:
    Swansea
    #6
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_3 like Mac OS X; en-gb) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8J2 Safari/6533.18.5)

    Thanks all!
     
  7. pourmood macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011

Share This Page