Installing SL on iMac w/ Tiger

Discussion in 'iMac' started by JMills21, Aug 15, 2011.

  1. JMills21 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011
    #1
    I bought a used iMac for super cheap, it is running 10.4.11(Tiger) I want to update to SL, I was told to use my disk from my Macbook Pro which is SL 10.6.3. I know this wont work because each disk is meant to work only with the computer it is sold with. So before I send the 30 bucks to buy the SL disk from apple themselves, I want to know if it will even work?

    Thank you in advance for any help.
     
  2. product26 macrumors 6502a

    product26

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    #2
    You did not provide any info on your iMac. Can't help you.
     
  3. redbotsoftware macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    #3
    It should work fine, as long as you have an intel iMac.
     
  4. JMills21 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011
    #4


    iMac 5.1, 2 GHz Intel core 2 duo, 1GB RAM(updating to 3 GB this week), running version 10.4.11(Tiger) right now.
     
  5. product26 macrumors 6502a

    product26

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    #5
    Snow leopard will work.

     
  6. JMills21 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011
    #6
    So just purchase the one for 29.99 from Apple & its pretty much a generic, as in isn't labeled for certain computers, it will work with any mac that is capable?
     
  7. Taz Mangus macrumors 68040

    Taz Mangus

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    #7
    Yes, any Mac computer that meets the minimum requirements set by Apple.
     
  8. JMills21 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011
    #8
    Okay thanks bc everyone has been telling me I need to buy the box set for 140 bucks. I mean I have no problem spending that if I NEED it,but if not Im happier with 29.99 lol
     
  9. Fishrrman macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #9
    "Okay thanks bc everyone has been telling me I need to buy the box set for 140 bucks. I mean I have no problem spending that if I NEED it,but if not Im happier with 29.99 lol"

    The $30 DVD will do what you need. You _don't_ need the "box set".
     
  10. WILLDOGS macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    #10
    I just bought the same imac as you last week from Craigslist and installed snow leopard just fine, but immediately then upgraded to Lion (The newest OS):D

    Need to upgrade memory to 3GB of course before the upgrade

    Works great and you should do the same enjoy
     
  11. JMills21 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011
    #11
    Awesome thanks for the input, going to order now.

    ----------

    Thanks for the input as well, I'm going to order now since my SL disk for my Pro won't work, lol. And where did you order your extra ram from, been browsing trying to find the best deals.
     

Share This Page