Installing snow leopard over lion

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by bogdanovici666, Oct 19, 2011.

  1. bogdanovici666 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    #1
    I just bought a MBP two days ago with Lion preinstalled and i want to install snow leopard.

    i have the retail dvd of SL but after it starts booting from DVD it appears the "You need to restart your computer. Hold Down the Power button for several seconds or press the Restart button"

    http://img149.imageshack.us/img149/7792/pict0017lo8.jpg

    the dvd works ok in another older MBP 2008.

    how can i install SL?
     
  2. noisycats macrumors 6502a

    noisycats

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Location:
    The 'ham. Alabama.
    #2
    Your mileage may vary, but here's what worked for me...

    Hook your Lion machine up to another Mac in Target Mode. Open Disk Utility and find the "Lion Mac" harddrive. Change the partition from 1 to any other number. Apply changes. Then repartition back to one. Apply changes.

    Then insert the retail SL disc into the "other Mac" and install SL unto the "Lion Mac" harddrive.

    Good luck.
     
  3. bogdanovici666 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    #3
    thank you for the reply.

    i need to buy a firewire cable 400 to 800 and i'll try.

    please, can you tell me if battery life is better in snow leopard?
     
  4. noisycats macrumors 6502a

    noisycats

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Location:
    The 'ham. Alabama.
    #4
    Sorry, I sure can't. My conversion was on a new iMac.
     

Share This Page