Installing SSD (Double Checking)

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by tonywang.xmpt, Jul 30, 2010.

  1. tonywang.xmpt macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Location:
    US
    #1
    I'm getting my new MBP 15' i5 this week.
    Before even using the computer,
    I wish to install a SSD that i bought in place of the HD
    (Intel X25-M G2 80gb)

    I done my research on how to install the SSD both physically
    (opening the macbook pro and installing it)
    and program wise
    (installing my "bootable backup"/ upgrading firmware on SSD)

    I know I'm being tedious,
    but I just want to know for sure that I won't do anything wrong

    Here are my steps
    Please check to see if there's anything wrong in it.
    (I'm asking this because I'll be using a different step than
    http://www.tuaw.com/2009/04/14/tuaw-tip-swap-out-your-laptops-hard-disk-for-a-spiffy-new-ssd/
    and
    http://macperformanceguide.com/Mac-InstallingSSD.html
    mainly because they require a connector to the SSD with the stock internal HD still intact (copying the file that way)
    and I don't wish to spend even more money getting the "universal connector"

    What I'm doing different is basically this
    (this should work in theory hopefully, just couldn't find another website confirming it)
    - Create bootable backup from MBP's internal HD to an external HD (using Superduper and ensuring that it will act as an "boot" HD)
    - Remove internal HD and install SSD in MBP
    - Upgrade Firmware in SSD (Intel's firmware) from CD
    - Insert Mac OSX Install CD and go to "Utilities" to choose to restore the drive through the bootable backup created earlier.
    Done.

    Will this basically work??
    (The website similar to this is this http://penkapp.com/2009/10/24/macbook-pro-hack-ssd/#comments)
    Thx for your help.
     
  2. phixiuz macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009
  3. alust2013 macrumors 601

    alust2013

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    On the fence
    #3
    Well, if you're going to swap the drives before you even use it, just switch them, boot from the OS X DVD, format the drive in disk utility, install the OS and you're good to go. No need to back anything up if it's just the OS on the computer.

    Side note: be very careful not to strip the screw that holds the drive in the computer. It's a lot softer than the screws that hold the bottom piece on, and strips very easily. Just be sure to put a good amount of pressure on it, use a precision screwdriver, and turn slowly. Pressing down a bit on the drive where the tab to pull it out is can take some pressure off the screw as well.
     
  4. nineohtoo macrumors 6502

    nineohtoo

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    #4
    Has anyone not upgraded their SSD's firmware? I just installed my Intel from the get go without doing anything to it, and it seems to perform just fine.
     
  5. EvillYoda macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    #5
    My intel drive actually came with the latest firmware installed. There was no need to update it. If you bought your drive recently, it was probably the same for you. If you look on your drive, the sticker on the front lists the firmware it shipped with.
     
  6. tonywang.xmpt thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Location:
    US
    #6
    I just recently purchased the Intel SSD
    so I guess I don't need to update the firmware
    (only thought of that because of this youtube video
    http://osx411.com/index.php?/topic/28-how-to-install-an-ssd-into-a-unibody-macbook-pro-hd-video/)

    The only reason I'm even considering of creating a bootable backup from the stock internal HD is because of the "default" application installed in the computer already. (ie. iLife, ect.)

    If I completely reinstall the Mac OSX onto the new SDD, would iLife also be installed from the OSX CD?
    (Just need it to be clarified. I read from somewhere that it's possible to loose your given application "iLife" if you reinstall the OSX.)

    Thx for all your help.
    (Don't want to mess up my first macbook pro)
     
  7. itisme1760 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Location:
    California
    #7
    When your new Mac arrives, it comes with 2 CDs, an OS X cd, and an Application CD (iLife).
     
  8. tonywang.xmpt thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Location:
    US
    #8
    Well then,
    I guess I know exactly what to do now.
    Thx for all your help!!
    This will save me a ton of time
    since I don't have to wait hours for the process of backing up
    and rebooting everything.

    Thanks :]
     
  9. demonsavatar macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    #9
    My Intel 80GB was preinstalled with 02HA.

    I haven't bothered with 02HD (latest version as of 7/30/10) yet, the changes are unclear/not significant. I think 02HA was what enabled TRIM, but thats a moot point in OSX anyway.
     
  10. tonywang.xmpt thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Location:
    US
    #10
    SSD is installed and good to go.
    Thanks for all the help.
    It really made a huge difference.
     

Share This Page