Installing SSD in optical bay

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by aeavery, Mar 26, 2009.

  1. aeavery macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    #1
    Hey there--I've been searching all over trying to figure out exactly what cables I need to install a X25-M in my MP 2.8's spare optical bay. Can anyone who's done this give me some advice? I think I know what SATA cable I need, but I'm confused as to how to power the drive...

    Thanks.
     
  2. hayduke macrumors 65816

    hayduke

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    is a state of mind.
    #2
    You can see how I've done it with a non-SSD drive here:

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=649257

    -OR-

    http://att.macrumors.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=157186&d=1234244778

    -OR-

    http://att.macrumors.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=157182&d=1234244778

    You can see the cable you need in the last link.

    If I recall correctly, the power just comes off of the ribbon cable connected to the DVD drive...man...I only did this a month ago and I can't remember for sure!

    I'm assuming you don't have a 2009 Mac Pro.
     
  3. aeavery thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    #3
    Correct, I have the '08.

    Cool thanks for the info!
     
  4. sparkie7 macrumors 68000

    sparkie7

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    #4
    great informative guide Hayduke :D was thinking of one of those. does maxupgrades see a version to hook up 2.5: drives? you could put 4 in there. or is there an adapter kit that works with the MaxConnect?
     
  5. hayduke macrumors 65816

    hayduke

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    is a state of mind.
    #5

    Thanks!

    You can read about dual 2.5" sleds for 3.5" bays here:

    http://forums.macrumors.com/archive/index.php/t-665177.html

    There are only two sata ports on the motherboard so you can really only connect two drives regardless of size, unless you use something like this:

    http://www.transintl.com/store/category.cfm?Category=2746

    Which lets you RAID 0 or RAID 1 the two 2.5" drives. Kind of pricey though.

    Probably more cost effective to get an eSATA card and go from there, but not as slick.
     
  6. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #6
    You'd be able to make one out of an old optical drive. Remove the enclosure, and the metal plates make a nice little mount. :) You'd just have to drill some holes. ;)

    Cheaper, and faster than something off the shelf.

    However, you can also use a 4 drive 2.5" backplane enclosure (like this one). (External dimensions is a 5.25" drive, similar to an optical drive). Place it in there in reverse. Front of the unit facing the PSU. :)
     
  7. hayduke macrumors 65816

    hayduke

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    is a state of mind.
    #7
    Hmm...how do you wire that up? Where do you connect the four SATA cables? Am I missing something?
     
  8. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #8
    You can use a MiniSAS Fan Out Cable, to attach to the logic board ('08 model, but loses the HDD bays), a RAID card with internal ports (year of MP won't matter), or individual SATA cables to a SATA card (again, year won't matter).

    Installing the drives is the "easy" part, but the rest would depend on what method (drive controller) is used. The SATA card would be the least expensive, and won't lose any ports.

    RAID cards offers certain benefits, but at a cost ($$$) obviously. ;) :p
     

Share This Page