installing ssd..

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by bsurb, Oct 6, 2013.

  1. bsurb macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2012
    Location:
    FL
    #1
    I just got a 250gb ssd and was wondering how to do the os install part?
     
  2. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #2
    What year is your Macbook? Do you have an external USB drive enclosure we can use to copy data from the old to the new drive?
     
  3. bsurb, Oct 6, 2013
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2013

    bsurb thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2012
    Location:
    FL
    #3
    I have a 2012 MacBook Pro 13 inch. The SSD came with the installation kit (usb drive to clone).
     
  4. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #4
    Gotcha... this makes it very easy. Install your new SSD then hold command-option-r (all three keys at once) when you boot. Pick a wifi network to login then you will get a recovery screen like below. Start Disk Utility and format the new drive to Mac OS Extended. Then quit Disk Utility and click reinstall OS. Now wait while the 4.7GB OS downloads from Apple's servers and installs. I find it helps to drink beer while this is going on. :D

    When it is all done and restarts you will get a setup assistant to select language etc and setup an account. Done.

    [​IMG]
     
  5. bsurb thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2012
    Location:
    FL
    #5
    I am downloading a software called "SuperDuper" now for the cloning. I have the youtube video up that walks me through to.

    So the very first step I believe I have to plug the SSD in with the USB and clone my files.

    It says what will you be doing? Do I seelct copy the macintosh HD to disk image?

    Theguy at best buy said I have to pay like $100 for the new OS?
     
  6. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #6
    I see you edited your post. Based on your comment you did not want to keep any data, I suggested the install in my post above. That will get you on the version of OS X that came with your machine for free.

    If you do want to keep your data and do a clone, I suggest using the trial version of Carbon Copy Cloner instead of SD, as CCC copies the recovery partition over and SD does not.

    If you either DL the OS as I described, or clone it over you will not need to buy any OS at all.

    You can skip a step and just put the new drive in the Macbook then option key boot to the old drive in the USB enclosure, then clone the old to the new with CCC. This saves you moving the new drive in and out of the enclosure for no reason.

    After you do the clone go to System Prefs and in the Startup Disk pane select the new SSD as the boot drive.
     
  7. bsurb thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2012
    Location:
    FL
    #7
    OK so say I put my documents on a thumb drive. I don't need to install the ssd software and I also don't have to plug in the usb and use superduper?

    I think I got it lol...... So after I save my documents to my thumb drive, just shut the computer down, take off the back, install the SSD, put cover back on boot up and follow those prompts?

    I don't need to use CCC or SD then right? Or I do to re install my OS?
     
  8. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #8
    You've got it. Just follow my instructions in post #4 and that will get you the OS with a new account on the Mac with the new SSD. Then just drag your documents from the USB key to the Mac and you are set. No need to use CCC or SD at all with this method.
     
  9. bsurb, Oct 6, 2013
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2013

    bsurb thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2012
    Location:
    FL
    #9
    I don't need the start up disk do I? that came with the mac? Or do I need that?

    When I tried putting in the SSD software CD, it says its not supported by MacOSX. I bought this SSD on the mac shelf at Best Buy but I am thinking its only for windows.......

    But it doesn't say just windows or mac on the box anywhere.
     
  10. bsurb thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2012
    Location:
    FL
  11. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #11
    I'm not familiar with SD. Try the free trial version of Carbon Copy Cloner instead. It will also copy over the recovery partition.
     

Share This Page