Installing Tiger on New Macbook

Discussion in 'macOS' started by binj112, Nov 10, 2007.

  1. binj112 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    #1
    Hey All!

    I just ordered a new macbook (the updated version). Just wondering when I recieve it, will it be possible to just blast 10.4.10 onto it? Its only because I need to use it for my music projects and theres problems with Leopard running Logic Studio and my Toneport UX2.

    Also, where can I get it from?

    Thanks!

    Ben
     
  2. OllyW Moderator

    OllyW

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Location:
    The Black Country, England
    #2
    You might be struggling to get Tiger on the latest MacBook.

    Because your Mac was released after the Leopard launch, the restore discs will only load 10.5. There was never a retail version of Tiger released for Intel Macs, because they all came with it on the restore discs and the restore discs only work with the type of Mac they were supplied with.

    So, there isn't any legal way of loading Tiger on your MacBook.
     
  3. Eraserhead macrumors G4

    Eraserhead

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    It also probably won't work at all because the firmware won't support Tiger
     
  4. binj112 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    #4
    Poo Sticks :(

    Godammit, why did I leave it till now to buy one! Argh.

    Feck
     
  5. OllyW Moderator

    OllyW

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Location:
    The Black Country, England
    #5
    It is possible to load Tiger on your Mac using another Intel Mac, a Firewire cable and your MacBook in target disc mode.

    But, as Eraserhead says, the firmware might be a problem. You would also be running unlicensed software.
     
  6. binj112 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    #6
    OK then, looks like im stuck with Leopard.

    Does Logic 8 even work with leopard does anyone know?

    Thanks!

    Ben
     
  7. Eraserhead macrumors G4

    Eraserhead

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    I imagine so, see this for incompatible apps.
     
  8. dacreativeguy macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    #8
    No Mac can run an OS version older than the version it shipped with. For one thing, 10.4.10 isn't even aware of the existence of SR MacBooks.
     

Share This Page