Installing Vista on a Portable HD

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by ^^ CoolMacLover, Jun 23, 2010.

  1. ^^ CoolMacLover macrumors regular

    ^^ CoolMacLover

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Location:
    On A Apple
    #1
    How would I be able to install Windows Vista on a portable hard drive?

    And dont you dare say google it, i have and none of it made any sense to me!
     
  2. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #2
    Boot from the install disk and select the external HD as the target of installation, not that hard
     
  3. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #3
    Since when does that work?

    Simply put. You can't install Windows on an external/removable drive without it getting messy by design.

    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/938984

    B
     
  4. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #4
    Whaaaaat? LOL! Does that apply to 7 too?
     
  5. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #5
    No version of Windows supports being installed to and booted from a removable drive out of the box.

    B
     
  6. ^^ CoolMacLover thread starter macrumors regular

    ^^ CoolMacLover

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Location:
    On A Apple
    #6
    So, please explain for the slow guy.

    Can it, or can it not be done?
     
  7. Bengt77 macrumors 68000

    Bengt77

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2002
    Location:
    Europe
  8. GidbinN macrumors member

    GidbinN

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Location:
    Northrend
    #8
    It seems bootcamp and time machine storage cannot be based on external hard drive.

    But you can run your virtual machine (parallel desktop) on an external.

    or not,
    good luck :)
     
  9. old-wiz macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
    #9
    ??? Time machine , unless on a MacPro, only works on external hard drives. There would be little point in putting the time machine stuff on the internal HD; what if you lose your boot drive? you would also lose your time machine.
     

Share This Page