Installing vista on my mac?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by gamerz, Oct 12, 2008.

  1. gamerz macrumors 6502

    gamerz

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    #1
    Hello everyone,

    I recently purchased windows vista today so that I could instal it on my mac, and play all the games that my friends play.

    How do I go about doing this?

    Thanks.
     
  2. econoline06 macrumors 6502

    econoline06

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    #2
    I believe no one has replied because this is a well known "how to" in the Mac community and is easily solved by a quick google search or using your Mac's built in help. However, to answer your question, simply use the Bootcamp setup assistant in your Utilities folder.
     
  3. iTim314 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Location:
    U.S.
    #3
    Here's my recommended Setup:

    Partition your hard drive into 3 partitions while booted into Leopard.


    1) You Mac OS X partition, formatted to NFS (already done)

    2) A 'Windows' partition, formatted into MS-FAT32. Now, Windows Vista requires NTFS+. When installing Vista, select this partition and format it to NTFS+. It is important that you FIRST format to MS-FAT32 in Mac OS X, or else the install won't be able to re-format. Since Vista requires NTFS+, and Mac OS X can only READ NTFS+, this presents a small issue if you ever want to file share between the two OSs, hence.............

    3) Create a third partition as a swap drive, formatted to MS-FAT32.


    Now install onto Partition 2 and your good to go. On each System, you'll see a SWAP drive and a system drive. :)
     
  4. richard.mac macrumors 603

    richard.mac

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Location:
    51.50024, -0.12662
    #4
    ^ the swap partition seems highly unnessessary. you cant create 3 partitions with Boot Camp Assistant and Disk Utility in Leopard can only create HFS+ partitons non destructively.

    so gamerz as econoline06 suggested create a partition with Boot Camp Assistant, insert the Vista DVD and restart, format the partition (C:) and install Vista. then use the Leopard DVD to install the drivers.
     
  5. iTim314 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Location:
    U.S.
    #5
    Yeah, all depends on your usage. I had no trouble, however, with creating the extra partitions.

    And the swap drive is quite useful to me, since I regularly create images in Vista with an 'old' copy of Photoshop I already had and copy them to Mac OS X.
     
  6. richard.mac macrumors 603

    richard.mac

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Location:
    51.50024, -0.12662
    #6
    did you have to erase your hard disk to create 3 partitions? im guessing the OP doesnt want to have to go thru this.
     
  7. gamerz thread starter macrumors 6502

    gamerz

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    #7
    Is bootcamp a free program? Or do I need to purchase it?

    Also, I found a program could "Q", anybody have experiences using it?
     
  8. mathcolo macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #8
    Yes, BootCamp is free and is already included on your Intel mac. Just look into Applications -> Utilities as others have mentioned.

    Q? Huh?

    EDIT: Looked up Q... OP: Boot Camp lets you BOOT into Windows whereas Q only emulates it in a Mac OS X window. Boot Camp will give you native speed. Q on the other hand, won't.
     
  9. iwuzbord macrumors 6502

    iwuzbord

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Location:
    New York City
    #9
    might i also suggest a virtual machine?
    Virtual machines let you run windows and mac os x at the same time.
    if you're looking for something like that, vmware fusion, paralells desktop, and sun's virtual box are great programs for it.
    if youre interested, do a forum search and you can find more information on them.
     
  10. gamerz thread starter macrumors 6502

    gamerz

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    #10
    I have Virtualbox now, thanks.

    Will it still run as fast as bootcamp would though?
     
  11. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #11
    Virtual machines will not run as fast as booting using 1 OS.
     

Share This Page