Installing VMWare Fusion Tomorrow, Need Some Expert Opinion

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by macbeliever, Feb 8, 2008.

1. macbeliever macrumors member

Hello Everyone,

I have a new copy of Windows XP and VMWare Fusion. I have a MBP 17" with 4 gigs of ram. Unfortunately a ton o my companies marketing is on .pub files and I have over 10,000 e-mails saved in Outlook.

I m never going back, let me get that off my chest. So here's where I'm at. I have not installed Bootcamp. I want to know what order to install Fusion and XP.

Should I install Bootcamp?

Can I just install Fusion with out Bootcamp?

When do I install XP?

Before Fusion, or after?

I know that this is a confusing post, but I cannot find this exact topic explained correctly.

Thanks all,

MacBeliever

2. McGiord, Feb 8, 2008
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2011

McGiord macrumors 601

McGiord

I'm not an expert, however from my experience with Parallels and Boot Camp my suggestion to you is:
    1- Create the Boot Camp partition
    2- Install Windows on it
    3- Activate it
    4- Install VMware Fusion
    5- Use the Boot Camp partition via Fusion
    6- You may need to activate your Windows license again
    7- Enjoy the possibility to run Windows either with Fusion or via Boot Camp

By doing that you'll also have the posibility to run Windows natively when you need it via Boot Camp.

If you don't do BootCamp then you'll be eating part of your HDD to create the Fusion virtual machine first, and then if you want to create the boot camp partition you'll be needing more space in the HDD and maybe another legal license of Windows (I'm not sure about the extra license needed)
    ________
    Toyota Kijang history

3. maestrokev macrumors 6502a

maestrokev

Only install Bootcamp if you need to boot into pure Windows rather than virtualized in Fusion. Since I don't do gaming and only need MS Office compatibility in Windows I don't need Bootcamp.