Installing Windows 7

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by mackmgg, Nov 9, 2008.

  1. mackmgg macrumors 65816

    mackmgg

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    #1
    i am trying to install windows 7, but it wont recognize the keyboard in the setup. when i am trying to install it through vista it says that there isnt engouh space. has anybody else had experience with windows 7, or know anything that i can delete in a clean install of vista to save space?

    thanks
     
  2. shoulin333 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #2
    Fist of all, why install a pre beta pos that you will just end up deleting anyways.... heh each to his own i guess

    but really, just go into osx, open up the bootcamp utility, restore hdd to a single partition, then make a new one bigger, reinstall vista, then try again... if they keyboard doesn't work try using an external usb to see if that even works
     
  3. scottlinux macrumors 6502a

    scottlinux

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2005
    #3
    Windows 7 uses Vista drivers. Sounds like you need the drivers...
     
  4. jaw04005 macrumors 601

    jaw04005

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Location:
    AR
    #4
    In 6801, the "upgrade" option is active but doesn't install correctly. Use the clean install method by booting the Windows 7 install disc and proceeding.

    Setup will rename your Vista Windows folder, and proceed with installing from scratch.

    Setup recognized my MacBook's keyboard just fine — of course upon install the Apple-developed keyboard driver and on-screen indicators will not install. Therefore none of your media keys will work.
     
  5. SnowLeopard2008 macrumors 604

    SnowLeopard2008

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #5
    If you have a laptop, just use that keyboard.
     
  6. mackmgg thread starter macrumors 65816

    mackmgg

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    #6
    ok I solved it. Apparently it was that I was using a 64bit version that crashed from the efi. I tried again with the 32 bit and it worked fine! And to whoever said y install l, well I've found less bugs in this then vista
     

Share This Page