installing windows for games - other than bootcamp

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by beck, Feb 26, 2009.

  1. beck macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2006
    #1
    Hello all, I've been trying on and off to get bootcamp working on my mbp but it has issues I can't fix so I'm giving up with bootcamp.

    Is it possible for me to install windows on another partition using a program such as parallels, then natively boot up.

    I say this because I assume running games inside parallels would be slow.

    (I've tried crossover games and it is buggy with steam for me)
     
  2. steveza macrumors 68000

    steveza

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    Bootcamp is the only solution for this on a Mac. Parallels and VMware Fusion can both access a Windows partition created using bootcamp but they can only create virtual machines not physical partitions.
     
  3. Tomorrow macrumors 604

    Tomorrow

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Location:
    Always a day away
    #3
    And depending on the games you want to play, Parallels and Fusion are definitely not the best way to go in terms of performance.

    I use Boot Camp for gaming, Fusion for all my other Windows work.
     
  4. Gryfon19 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #4
    So does that mean that if I've already created a partition and placed Windows on it, Parallels (or Fusion) will simply access that Windows partition in order to run Windows programs, etc.? This as opposed to installing another Windows specifically for Parallels to use.
     
  5. Stridder44 macrumors 68040

    Stridder44

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #5

    What particular issues are you having? And yes, as others have said running Windows in virtual machine for games is a joke.
     
  6. Tomorrow macrumors 604

    Tomorrow

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Location:
    Always a day away
    #6
    That's exactly right. I installed Windows under Boot Camp, then I installed Fusion and pointed it to my Boot Camp installation, so I'm only maintaining one installation. I have not used Parallels, but I understand that it will do the same thing.

    EDIT: Make sure you install your boot camp partition first!
     
  7. Winni macrumors 68030

    Winni

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Location:
    Germany.
    #7
    You can install Windows without the Boot Camp Assistant. However, if you still want OS X on your Mac, you should use Boot Camp to partition/resize your disk drive. Then boot your Mac --without-- using the Boot Camp Assistant, but press Alt/Option after the startup sound and boot directly from the Windows CD/DVD. Windows will find the Boot Camp partition. Do NOT let Windows change the partition layout of your disk - you can let Windows reformat the Boot Camp partition, but do NOT LET IT PARTITION! (Unless you want to lose OS X, of course.)

    After the Windows installation is complete, you can - or rather: have to - install the Boot Camp software in Windows to get all the required drivers.

    After you've installed the Boot Camp drivers that came with your Mac or Leopard, you can download the latest Boot Camp drivers from Apple's website and install them. The drivers on Apple's website are an update ONLY, so you HAVE TO install the original Boot Camp drivers first, otherwise this won't work.

    I've experienced problems with Boot Camp's disk resizing utility in the past: On certain machines, it wouldn't allow more than 32 GB for the Windows partition, although there was much more space available. I still don't know how to solve this without scratching the entire machine. If you have this problem, you probably just have to suck up this weird 32 GB limitation for Windows.
     
  8. i0ngunn3r macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    #8
    actually, you shouldn't. it can be made with built-in Disk Utility (Applications>Utilities)

    ----
    you also can try to use rEFIt.
     
  9. beck thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2006
    #9
    thanks for the input everyone think im going to have to give up again

    When installing xp it get stuck on the screen saying "setup is starting windows" other people have had the problem but the fixes don't work for me. Think it is some bit of hardware setup doesn't like (i've got mbp with a larger hard drive i installed myself so could be that) Xp disk is 100% legit, i've installed xp on other machines dozens of times sigh!
     

Share This Page