Installing Windows on MacBook Pro

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by supermanjr, Jun 27, 2009.

  1. supermanjr macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    #1
    Hi, I've recently got my MBP but need Windows to access certain applications. The problem is, I don't know which service pack to get for Windows e.g. Windows xp sp1/2/3? I was thinking of getting SP3 but apparently you need SP1/2 to install this. (I do not have any previous versions) Can someone confirm whether this is true considering that I am using Mac? Or is it okay to buy SP3 and install it on my Mac I was thinking of getting this: http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/...&pf_rd_t=101&pf_rd_p=467198433&pf_rd_i=468294
     
  2. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #2
    That will work fine.

    Windows XP is Windows XP. The service packs are free updates from Microsoft. Just like newer copies of Leopard ship with the more recent 10.5.4 version rather than the original 10.5.0, Microsoft sells copies of Windows XP with the service pack preinstalled. The only purpose of the change is to reduce downloading for the end user.

    Any service pack version will work for you. Not true—see below.
     
  3. will0407 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 20, 2006
    #3
    I have windows XP Sp3 installed and I didn't need SP1/2
     
  4. SHADO macrumors 6502a

    SHADO

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Location:
    Beach
    #4
    I think in order to install XP via Boot Camp you need to have at least SP2.
     
  5. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #5
    That is correct... at least SP2

    Woof, Woof - Dawg [​IMG]
     
  6. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #6
    Right, I forgot about that. :eek:
     
  7. Tomorrow macrumors 604

    Tomorrow

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Location:
    Always a day away
    #7
    XP SP2 or XP SP3.

    Can you even buy SP1 anymore? :confused:
     
  8. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #8
    You may not can buy it retail, but it could show up on eBay or be given to someone

    Woof, Woof - Dawg [​IMG]
     
  9. Tomorrow macrumors 604

    Tomorrow

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Location:
    Always a day away
    #9
    Aah, I didn't even think of that...there I go again assuming everyone just rushes down to Fry's for everything like I do :eek:
     
  10. supermanjr thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    #10
    I read somewhere that I can use Windows XP SP3 if I download Bootcamp 2.1. Can I not just do this?
     

Share This Page