Installing Windows vista on my MAC PRO

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by waelbahbahani, Jun 1, 2009.

  1. waelbahbahani macrumors newbie

    waelbahbahani

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    #1
    Hi,

    I have new mac pro desktop with ( Two 2.26GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon Nehalem), And I want to install windows in it

    Will the windows performance in MAC Pro be as same if it was installed in PC?
     
  2. ziggyonice macrumors 68020

    ziggyonice

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Location:
    Rural America
    #2
    Yep. It'll run Windows at native speed -- no slowdown whatsoever. You'll basically be turning your Mac into a PC. One hell'a a PC at that. :)
     
  3. gugucom macrumors 68020

    gugucom

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Location:
    Munich, Germany
    #3
    The performance will be very nice and you allways have the choice between OS X, which came with the Mac Pro and Windows. Both operating systems can live on the machine if you install Windows with Apple's Bootcamp software.

    So it is not advised to install Windows instead of OS X. You will also notice a few differences between the Mac Pro and a PC when it comes to the nuts and bolts. Apple uses a different firmware (not BIOS) and some relics of hardware like Floppy Disks and PS2 connectors for keyboards which are still present on PCs are not available.

    As your machine has multiple hard disks it is sensible to use a separate HD for Windows although it can be installed to a separate partition on the same HD as OS X.
     
  4. mattlong1978 macrumors member

    mattlong1978

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #4
    I've only just started using Vista under boot camp myself I installed the 64-bit version which runs smoothly and also the fact I can actually see all the installed ram not just a fraction of it as with XP so if your after doing this I wouldn't hesitate go for it
     
  5. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #5
    If you wish to install Windows on another drive, you don't even need boot camp. ;)
     
  6. Infrared macrumors 68000

    Infrared

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    #6
    I have this very slight suspicion Apple have done some secret stuff
    in their firmware to slow Windows down. But that's mostly paranoia,
    probably. It would be nice if someone could remove that suspicion
    entirely, by way of a persuasive argument ( hint hint :) )
     
  7. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #7
    The only thing I can think of, would be the result of the BIOS emulation on top of the EFI.
     
  8. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #8
    Apple makes their money off hardware, not really off the OS. The OS causes people to buy the hardware. If people buy Macs to run Windows, Apple still makes a ton of money - a lot more than if people buy a PC and hack it to run OS X.

    So... Apple would love it if Macs ran Windows faster than any other PCs. They'd never cripple the speed.
     
  9. Infrared macrumors 68000

    Infrared

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    #9
    Yeah. And that's written by a third party, I understand (InsydeSW).

    If Apple were doing any dodgy stuff, I think they'd keep it in-house.

    I think any problems (e.g., AHCI) are most likely due to lack of care,
    rather than anything more malign.
     
  10. Infrared macrumors 68000

    Infrared

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    #10
    Not intentionally, perhaps. But there was this:

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=223679
    http://forums.macworld.com/thread/74715

    And then this:

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=377724

    And now this:

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=703885

    That's 3 generations of Mac Pros with speed-sapping SATA issues.

    Curiously, one of the original discussions on Apple's forum seems
    to have ... err.. disappeared or something:

    http://discussions.apple.com/thread.jspa?threadID=604611
     
  11. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #11
    I hadn't heard or seen anything about any of the firmware components being 3rd party developed. :eek:

    Maybe. I tend to think more on limited time and enormous pressure to get the code and hardware components developed to the point a product can ship ASAP.

    Bugs? Deal with it later in an update. :eek: :D :p
     
  12. Infrared macrumors 68000

    Infrared

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    #12
    I may be over-interpreting. What I read:

    Insyde Software's site is here:

    http://www.insydesw.com/products/products.htm

    On reflection, it's not clear to me whether they would have written
    the firmware themselves, or provided a kit for that purpose. Or are
    Insyde implicated in some other way?

    And, of course, I'm not referring to all of the firmware. Just the BIOS
    emulation part.

    ps

    I hope I don't come across as way too negative about the Mac Pros.
    I have been in hypercritical mode for the last few days. It's genetic,
    alas, I think :)
     
  13. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #13
    It could be either, as they offer both a developer kit and development services. Either way, Apple licensed something. ;)

    Actually, I don't think it's hyper-critical at all. Some may need to get that in depth for various reasons, such as compatibility for a specific use/software package. Others may just be really curious. Personally, I like knowing such details. Rather handy sometimes. ;) :D

    Thanks for the links BTW. :)
     
  14. gugucom macrumors 68020

    gugucom

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Location:
    Munich, Germany
    #14
    That is more than obvious when you consider that the firmware forces you to run SATA in legacy mode when you run under Linux or Windows. Only under OS X the ODD-SATA ports are functional and the the HDD ports work full speed. It is a pain in the neck to install the Intel driver for SATA management. They should install automatically but EFI prevents that. To not fix that issue over 3 years and 3 product launches speaks for itself.
     
  15. MacAndy74 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #15
    That's just what I plan on doing. Tell me more o wise owl. :)
     
  16. richard.mac macrumors 603

    richard.mac

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Location:
    51.50024, -0.12662
    #16
    ^ just boot into your Windows install DVD by holding C on startup, install Windows on your empty hard disk and then install the Boot Camp drivers off the Leopard install DVD :).
     
  17. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #17
    Yup. :) Rather easy. :eek: :D
     

Share This Page