Installing Windows XP from USB Stick

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by sinicide, Dec 8, 2007.

  1. sinicide macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    #1
    Is it possible that when you are going through the process of installing windows from the Boot Camp that you can boot XP from a USB stick instead of a CD to install Windows on my Macbook Pro?

    It seems that my dvd drive is no longer functioning properly because it won't read any dvd/cds in it. So I wanted to know if I could install windows via a usb stick instead of a cd.
     
  2. Cheetah223 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    #2
    Hate to revive a long dead thread, but I figure better to revive one than recreate it.

    So how 'bout it...Anyone know if it's possible to install XP from a USB drive to a MacBook Pro using bootcamp? I can find tons of information on installing bootable XP to a USB drive, but nothing on installing XP to the MBP from a USB drive..
     
  3. supermariofan25, Feb 7, 2011
    Last edited: Apr 6, 2011

    supermariofan25 macrumors regular

    supermariofan25

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
  4. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #4
    Your mileage may vary.

    It seems that many Macs will not boot "legacy OSes" from USB even with rEFIt. I don't understand why, but it seems a common problem.

    Also, the "download windows support software" bit doesn't seem to work for many users. It downloads fine, but then can't copy or burn the drivers to a USB stick or optical disc.

    Did it actually work for you?

    B
     
  5. hfg macrumors 68040

    hfg

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids, IA. USA
    #5
    It might be easier to just borrow or buy an external usb DVD drive and install from that. They are only $40 from Amazon and then you would have a DVD/CD reader/writer again, although external.:cool:

    -howard
     
  6. supermariofan25 macrumors regular

    supermariofan25

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    #6
    i guess it dosn't help that i don't have a mac book "yet", but i did do some research as to how to do it so at least i tried:eek:
     
  7. supermariofan25, Feb 8, 2011
    Last edited: Apr 6, 2011
  8. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #8
    Mac OS will mount ISOs natively, but that won't let you boot from it. For that, the boot loader would have to be able to mount ISO files.

    B
     
  9. supermariofan25, Feb 9, 2011
    Last edited: Apr 26, 2011

    supermariofan25 macrumors regular

    supermariofan25

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    #9
    Your right sorry:(
     
  10. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #10
    How can one mount an .iso on a Mac without an OS running and mounting the .iso?
     
  11. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #11
    Exactly. Chicken and egg problem. The firmware/boot loader can't load the ISO and the OS can't boot the machine with an ISO mounted.

    B
     
  12. supermariofan25, Feb 9, 2011
    Last edited: Apr 6, 2011

    supermariofan25 macrumors regular

    supermariofan25

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    #12
    Your right sozz:(
     
  13. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #13
    Which Boot Camp is that? The official isntructions http://manuals.info.apple.com/en_US/Boot_Camp_Install-Setup_10.6.pdf tells you in Step 3 to
    The only way to do what you are suggesting is to use VM software like Parallels/VMWare Fusion/Virtualbox to mount and boot the ISO and target the Boot Camp partition. See the "without super drive" thread for more info. http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=601414

    B
     
  14. supermariofan25, Feb 9, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 9, 2011

    supermariofan25 macrumors regular

    supermariofan25

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    #14
    Like I said before I don't know why I'm posting to this thread because I don't have a Mac "yet" guess I'm just trying to be helpful:eek: p.s. Google you've let me down:(:(
     
  15. Chimaobi macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    #15
    not right

    Well, something isn't right with the instructions.

    The 2nd screen during BC installation, 'download windows support software', does not exist on MBP's do they? Sounds like a mba exclusive thing.

    Yet, supermariofan (2nd post) is stating that this should be done on a mbp.

    How does one bypass this? I've got refit ready and everything.

    Will start looking for other options on how to install winos on macs without cd, maybe vmware can trick the mac or something.

    Cheers.
     
  16. supermariofan25, Apr 6, 2011
    Last edited: Apr 26, 2011

    supermariofan25 macrumors regular

    supermariofan25

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    #16
    Sozz

    Sorry:( Didn't know why i posted that i guess i was just trying to help but dosn't help that i can't test it my self, please ignore that post!!!!!
    P.S. It seemed like it worked in the video but it was for mba not mbp, again sorry:(
     
  17. supermariofan25 macrumors regular

    supermariofan25

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    #17
    Random Idea

    Just a Random Idea, is it possable to create a small 4gb partrion that you can boot from and copy installtion files to there and then install windows from that? But them you may not be able to delete that partrion when finished:( P.S this has NOT been tried please do not try this unless you know what you are doing. Excuse the spelling;)
     
  18. supermariofan25 macrumors regular

    supermariofan25

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    #18
  19. supermariofan25 macrumors regular

    supermariofan25

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    #19
    i finally have a mac now so i am at use here
    also the drivers download to the Users/Your User name here/ folder so just copy and paste them to usb. ps drivers only work with windows 7 no use trying windows 8
     
  20. Escovaro macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2012
    #20
    XP SP3 on Imac Leopard

    Hi folks!.

    I didnt seem to find a solution to my problem in this thread, so I´ll revive it as well and I will see if someone is able to help me..

    I want to install Win Xp SP3 on my IMac Os X 10.5.8 Bootcamp is 2.0

    System is following:

    iMac9,1
    Intel Core 2 Duo
    2.66 GHz

    I have: ReFit, Bootcamp 2.1 downloaded and a bootable USB drive with Windows on it.

    The following I have done 2 times, always with the same ending, that I can´t finish the goddamn installation :rolleyes:

    1.Run Bootcamp assistant and Partition (I did 12 GB, just want it to play one single game)
    2.Exit and boot with ReFit from the stick.
    3.Select TEXT MODE (the top option)
    4.Select quick NTFS Partioning on the Bootcamp Partition

    it afterwards copies the installation folders and reboots again.

    Now comes the crucial Problem.

    When I then select the Windows Partition in ReFit (same thing happens if I boot the stick) I first get the black screen with blinking cursor at the top left and then it gives me the following error:

    Failed to boot, Harddrive-configuration Error, read the manual and so on..

    So my question is this:

    Has anybody. ever. found a way around this, or has a working procedure to install xp sp3 on this IMac? :confused:

    Thank you so much for any help!! Regards, Esco
     
  21. vitamin01 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    #21
    YES YOU CAN
    $sudo diskutil resizevolume /dev/disk0s2 31G MS-DOS "MS-DOS" 1G
    than boot into windows installation.
     
  22. Dustman macrumors 65816

    Dustman

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    #22
    Has anyone ever found a solution for this?

    I need XP in bootcamp for it's smaller footprint, but my superdrive is broken and would prefer not to buy an external superdrive just for this one purpose.
     

Share This Page