Installing Windows

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Zohra, May 7, 2011.

1. Zohra macrumors newbie

Ok, so I am hoping to install a copy of Windows 7 Professional on my Mac Book Pro, via Boot Camp. I got my copy through my school but the problem is that it was downloaded....so the file is a .exe and I don't know how to open it so I can have it ready when I set up Boot Camp.
    Any suggestions?

2. balamw Moderator

balamw

Staff Member

3. Zohra thread starter macrumors newbie

And then?

Ok I am downloading it right now. After, I should just begin the Boot Camp set up and when it asks for the disc I select that iso file instead?
    Sorry, I'm a bit new to this. :p

4. balamw Moderator

balamw

Staff Member

You'll need a blank DVD to burn the ISO to. Then follow the normal Boot Camp instructions which include booting from that DVD.

I would suggest you use Burn OS X to burn the ISO image.

B

5. Zohra thread starter macrumors newbie

Awesome. Thanks for the help. :)

Will I have to wipe my current mac HD to partition part of it for the Windows half? I haven't got a problem backing my mac side up, my only question is can I use Time Machine to get my mac side back to the way it was? I currently have an external as my Time Machine drive and I know I'm using under half of my current 500GB drive's space.

6. balamw Moderator

balamw

Staff Member

Definitely have a back up.

However, Boot Camp Assistant is a non-destructive partition tool, so unless anything goes horribly wrong you should not have to resort to your backup.

B

7. Zohra thread starter macrumors newbie

8. nomansohail macrumors newbie

i just downloaded an iso but my problem is that i have a macbook air the late 2010 edition soo is there a way i could put that on the external drive and install it from there ?? any help would be greatly appreciated :)

without me having to invest in an optical drive

9. Quad5Ny macrumors 6502a

Quad5Ny