Installing Windows

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by MarkW19, Mar 9, 2008.

  1. MarkW19 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2002
    Location:
    Surrey, UK
    #1
    I'm getting a new MacBook Pro tomorrow, and was wondering if it's possible to just create an NTFS partition on the new MBP, and drag the contents of my current NTFS/bootcamp partition across? Just want to avoid having to install Windows (XP) again, and put all the security stuff/updates back on etc.!

    Thanks.
     
  2. Neil321 macrumors 68040

    Neil321

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Britain, Avatar Created By Bartelby
    #2
    You could clone your existing partition to a external,then make your partition
    on the new Mac and then clone back again

    winclone
     
  3. MarkW19 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2002
    Location:
    Surrey, UK
    #3
    Nice one, just what I was looking for! Thanks.
     
  4. Neil321 macrumors 68040

    Neil321

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Britain, Avatar Created By Bartelby
    #4
    No worries
     
  5. crm114 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Location:
    Midwest
    #5
    i think there wil be driver issues with devices in windows. unless the new MBP has the same as the old.
     

Share This Page