Installing Wondows on a new iMac

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by RBilRamZ, Jan 16, 2008.

  1. RBilRamZ macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2003
    #1
    I just bought a new iMac and I need to be able to run Windows for AutoCAD. What is the best way to do this? I know Boot Camp will allow me to install a different OS, but besides that, I am in the dark. What is the safest way to do this? I also dont want to affect the overall speed of the iMac when runnning OSX (95% of the time).

    I think I am just going to install Windows XP, since I dont need Vista for any reason that I can think of. Also, how do I get a Windows instalation CD? Do I have to buy it at a store? Sorry if some of these questions are overly basic, I just want to install WIndows in the most efficient way possible.

    Thanks everyone.
     
  2. webgoat macrumors 6502a

    webgoat

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #2
    Boot camp is probably the best way to do what you want since it won't cost you any money like the virtualization software. The safest way is to simply run boot camp assistant and print the installation guide when prompted or have it handy to view on another computer. This will not affect the overall speed of your mac os (granted you dont partition the disk and leave barely any room left on the mac side). You have to purchase a copy of windows... the cheapest being through an educational discount, followed by an oem copy, then retail i suppose.
     
  3. nikopolidis macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2007
    #5
    Actually I know minimum 3 effective ways of solving your problem: Parallels Desktop, BootCamp, VMWare Fusion.

    Best way to run games on Mac is to use BootCamp for it. You can run Windows with this piece of software but you will need to reboot your system every time you want to switch from one OS to another. This is the main difference from Parallels and Fusion. But I think it's not your case.

    I've never used Fusion, but I know much about Parallels and have some experience using it.

    I also understand you very well because not long ago I have the same problem. I wanted to switch to Mac from PC but still needed some Windows apps (I also needed AutoCAD!). Sometimes I don't understand those who advice me to find Mac's analogues. I got used to this app why do I need to find any analogue?
    Use Parallels Desktop to solve your problem. I use it nowadays enjoy it and like it much. I have no problems with it and it runs rather fast. It fully satisfies my needs for the moment. Easy to install, easy to use. Excellent usability!

    Also, check this thread http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=410912
    Sure it will help you also. :)
    Good luck!
     
  4. hk8899 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    #6
    I would just stick with bootcamp to install windows to. You have to buy a copy of Windows becasue it is not pre installed with boot camp.:D
     
  5. nikopolidis macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2007
    #7
    Does anybody know if I qualify to receive product updates as a Parallels Desktop customer? Is it for free or I need to pay for these updates?
     
  6. OllyW Moderator

    OllyW

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Location:
    The Black Country, England
    #8
    If you bought Parallels 3 you can get the latest updates free.

    If you have an earlier version, you will have to pay an upgrade fee to get to the latest version. Open Parallels and click on check for updates and see what updates are available.
     
  7. nikopolidis macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2007
    #9
    And how much do I have to pay to upgrade my Parallels Desktop to the newest version? I hope it is cheaper than new bargain?
     

Share This Page