Instant Hotspot

Discussion in 'iOS 8' started by mattbaar26, Jun 2, 2014.

  1. mattbaar26 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2013
    #1
    Any ideas how this will work? I'm unsure of how this could just bypass carrier's restrictions but honestly, Apple could have said deal with it or bye bye iPhone ha
     
  2. Runt888 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    #2
    I'm thinking your phone has to be able to become a hotspot for this to work. So they're not getting around carrier restrictions.
     
  3. Armen macrumors 604

    Armen

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2013
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #3
    I'm pretty sure your phone has to already have the hotspot feature (which is carrier controlled) before instant hotspot can even work.
     
  4. dc52nv macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    #4
    I'll stick to MyWi if I need to connect my mac.
     
  5. Afbar1114 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
  6. SheepNutz macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Location:
    Kantuckee
    #6
    There's no feature to find really. You need an iPhone on iOS 8, then either a wifi iPad on iOS 8 or a mac on OSX Yosemite, then the iPad or mac will see the iPhone and list it as an available wifi network.

    For those asking about going around carrier permissions, this website from apple even shows in the starred comment at the bottom of the page "*Check with your carrier for hotspot availability." http://www.apple.com/ios/ios8/continuity/
     
  7. theapplefanboyj macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2014
    #7
    Could you do this to connect an iPhone and an iPod Touch together with the hotspot?
     
  8. Afbar1114 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    #8
    I can't connect. Do I need to do fresh installs of both?
     
  9. jlblodgett macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    #10

    That's a shame. This was the feature I was most impressed with. Oh well.
     
  10. dc52nv macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    #11
    Not 100% sure but I would say yes.
     
  11. Afbar1114 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    #12
    is it only certain models of macs?
    So far i didn't need to do a fresh install everything works
     
  12. richwoodrocket macrumors 68020

    richwoodrocket

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2014
    Location:
    Hamburg, NY
    #13
    Amazing! This is awesome! I feel like a kid in a candy store reading all the new features of iOS 8.
     
  13. 869639 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    Location:
    Earth
    #14
    Not in anyway Apple's fault, as data services are provided by Carrier's/Networks, so its entirely in their control much like how FaceTime over Cellular was/is (even though now its allowed by most carriers -- AT&T I know had restricted it initially)
     

Share This Page