Instead of updated warranty, BB is replacing with new computer?!

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by rmp71701, May 6, 2014.

1. rmp71701 macrumors member

Anybody ever heard of this? Is there something I need to be wary of that I'm not catching here?

So about a month ago, I got an MBA through Open Box at Best Buy. At the time, the sales rep said the returned computer was 15 days old or less (based on their return policy + some paperwork, I guess), so I figured I had nearly a full year warranty on it.

I took it to the Apple store to get it looked over & the Genius said the warranty was actually activated back in January - meaning I lost 3 months worth of warranty.

So I called Apple & explained the situation, & they told me I have to talk to BB and have them submit a form to Apple to change the warranty. Ok, fine. So I called BB & after talking to 4 different people, got put through to a helpful person at Geek Squad Central. It took her 30 minutes, but what she finally came back and told me was this:

No one she talked to had ever heard of submitting a warranty change form to Apple. She talked to the managers at the physical store too, and what they decided was that I could return my open box MBA for a brand new one instead.

I asked if the offer was for the new 2014 or the older 2013 model, but she said she didn't know and I'd have to just ask the manager about it.

In some ways, this is a bit of an inconvenience (there is nothing technically wrong with the MBA I have now), but in other ways I don't mind getting a brand new one, since it would be a pristine new one vs. the used-and-returned one I have now.

BTW, if I have the choice, should I go for the updated 2014 MBA, or the 2013 model? - I know there is a slight processor upgrade but I didn't know if there were any positives about sticking with the 2013 model.

2. macs4nw macrumors 601

macs4nw