Insteon or Lutron with siri

Discussion in 'iOS 9' started by rmadrid20, Nov 7, 2015.

  1. rmadrid20 macrumors newbie

    rmadrid20

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    #1
    I'm moving into an apartment and I want to automatize the lights completely and I was wondering which of this two hubs are the best homekit compatible (siri) and which have more array of homekit enabled devices i can us with them and also want to use the iwatch, thanks
     
  2. southerndoc macrumors 65816

    southerndoc

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Location:
    USA
    #2
    I really like the Insteon interface and app. However, they need to fix some bugs in it. I believe they released it prior to fine tuning the firmware.

    When you're adding devices, sometimes you have to power cycle the hub in order for it to recognize the device. Also, I had to factory reset the hub when it first arrived for it to work properly.

    Now that it's set up, it works great except for problems communicating when an air conditioner/furnace isn't running. This is due to the wiring of my home and not to the Insteon device itself. Any device that communicates over the power line will do this as my main power splits into two breaker boxes when it enters my home. Insteon makes a "bridge" that will fix this, but I have to get an electrician to come install it. Again, this will occur with any device that communicates over the power line. You can get around this by installing multiple Insteon devices on both circuits as it amplifies the signal and the devices communicate wired and wireless. My only problem is that one circuit breaker powers rooms that are too far away from the devices to communicate wirelessly.
     
  3. rmadrid20 thread starter macrumors newbie

    rmadrid20

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    #3
    Got it !! Any problems with Siri? Can you control your devices (lights, thermostat, sensors, etc) outside your network? I've heard that in order to do that you'll need the Apple TV 4 gen, it's this thru?
    Thanks
     
  4. southerndoc macrumors 65816

    southerndoc

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Location:
    USA
    #4
    I have a 4th generation and most of the time have no problems. Occasionally I have an issue.
     
  5. rmadrid20 thread starter macrumors newbie

    rmadrid20

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    #5
    So can you control the devices outside your network?
     
  6. southerndoc macrumors 65816

    southerndoc

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Location:
    USA
    #6
    Yes, most of the time.
     

Share This Page