Intel 320 Series 160GB real slow?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Badrottie, Jun 8, 2012.

  1. Badrottie Suspended

    Badrottie

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #1
    Not sure if this is really slow? Take a look at this picture….

    DiskSpeedTest.png
     
  2. Medic278 macrumors 6502a

    Medic278

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Location:
    New York
    #2
    Thats about right for a 320 on SATA II speeds
     
  3. FrancoisC, Jun 8, 2012
    Last edited: Jun 8, 2012

    FrancoisC macrumors 6502

    FrancoisC

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Location:
    Montreal, Qc
    #3
  4. riptideMBP macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    #4
    Im no expert on how SSDs and disk tests work, but I get 45.4MB/s and 180.6 MB/s using the same test on my 40GB intel 320... I'm supposed to get 45/200 MB/s whereas the 160GB is supposed to get up to 165/270 MB/s so id be a little worried. source:http://www.anandtech.com/show/4244/intel-ssd-320-review
     
  5. Badrottie thread starter Suspended

    Badrottie

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #5
  6. FrancoisC macrumors 6502

    FrancoisC

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Location:
    Montreal, Qc
    #6

    Will do later tonight when I get back from the cinema:)
     
  7. FrancoisC, Jun 8, 2012
    Last edited: Jun 8, 2012

    FrancoisC macrumors 6502

    FrancoisC

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Location:
    Montreal, Qc
    #7
    Here it is.

    Specs in sig

    Edit: Do you have TRIM Enabled?

    if not, go there: http://www.groths.org/?page_id=322

    It's discussed somewhere in this forum.

    After enabling TRIM, reset your mac in single user mode and run this command: "fsck -ffy" (Without quotes) it's going to trim the unused sector and maybe give you back your speed.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. Badrottie thread starter Suspended

    Badrottie

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #8
    Thank you very much I have done what you suggested…no improved performance at all. I guess your sig is newer than my old mbp?
     
  9. riptideMBP macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    #9
    I have sata II as well, and my read speed is higher than yours even though my drive is speced for lower speeds, so I think something might be wrong with yours
     
  10. ayeying macrumors 601

    ayeying

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    Yay Area, CA
    #10
  11. FrancoisC macrumors 6502

    FrancoisC

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Location:
    Montreal, Qc
    #11

    You're right, sata 1... Then he's geting normal speed for his setup.

    I didn't think about that, I thought that even the first gen intel mac had sata II.

    Oh well, you learn something new everyday!


    And to the op, even if you are not getting full speed, just the access time of the SSD make it so much better than even the fastest HDD!
     
  12. Badrottie thread starter Suspended

    Badrottie

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #12
    thank you

    ----------

    Yeah before HDD and after SSD not much improvement but I will save SSD for next MBP anyway.

    The bottom line SSD gives me a new experience! :)
     

Share This Page