Intel 510 Speed Concern '11 MBP 15"

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by iammike1, Jul 28, 2011.

  1. iammike1 macrumors 6502a

    iammike1

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Location:
    Columbia MD
    #1
    I purchased an Intel 320 SATAII drive earlier this week and enjoyed it so much I moved it to my 2009 MBP and purchased an Intel 510 SATAIII for my 2011 MBP today.

    Everything is all done, system is not indexing, no additional programs running, everything should be great.

    First I ran Disk Speed Test which I didn't have yet with the 320.

    http://i.imgur.com/SAPPT.jpg

    I was surprised at both numbers being SATAIII so I checked the system status to make sure it connected at 6 Gigabit.

    http://i.imgur.com/tow0F.jpg

    Sure enough it was so I wanted to compare the performance to the 320 I had in previously and had some saved Xbench results from. Here is a side by side of the 510 and the 320. The results did not please me and I'm not sure why they are what they are.

    http://i.imgur.com/8drH8.jpg

    Tell me what you think guys....what's going on?
     
  2. XandeR803 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    #2
    Have you reset the smc? I find that it helps when swapping drives in/out of the same laptop.
     
  3. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #3
    Here is my result with that drive in a 13" 2011 MBP.

    You might try doing a safe boot (hold down shift key when starting) once. That will run fsck on the drive and also clear the cache files. After the safe boot is done, reboot again normally then give the drive a few minutes to stop writing files and try the test again.

    Also, the AJA disk test seems more consistent and accurate, so that may be a better test.
     
  4. iammike1 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    iammike1

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Location:
    Columbia MD
    #4
    I just did a SMC reset and a PRAM reset with no effect. Drive still negotiates at 6Gigabit but same speeds as before.
     

Share This Page