intel computer ppc os

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by MacHappytjg, Apr 12, 2008.

  1. MacHappytjg macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Location:
    Winnipeg
    #1
    is there anyway i can install a ppc os on an external hdd on my intel ? cause my imacs dvd doesnt work and has no os on the hdd or can the 10.4 intel work on the hdd wen in a ppc
     
  2. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #2
    No. You can't use a different OS than what your architecture supports.
     
  3. psychofreak Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
  4. MacHappytjg thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Location:
    Winnipeg
    #4

    yea thought so errrrrrrr
     
  5. misterredman macrumors 6502a

    misterredman

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    #5
    Not exactly what you asked but may help you solve the problem:

    1) Insert the install dvd in the macbook (the PPC install disk that you need for the imac)
    2) Shutdown both computers.
    3) Connect the macbook and the imac with a firewire cable.
    4) Restart the macbook in Target disk mode (hold the T key at startup)
    5) Startup the imac holding down the option key. You should now see the macbooks optical drive (aka DVD) as a choice to boot up.
    6) Install the operating system on the imac using the macbook optical drive
     
  6. Queso macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    #6
    Could you use something like SuperDuper! to duplicate your existing installation to the external drive?
     
  7. MacHappytjg thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Location:
    Winnipeg
    #7
    i shot my imac but it didnt have firewire otherwise i would have 10.4 on it lol and i wouldnt have this probelm
     
  8. misterredman macrumors 6502a

    misterredman

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    #8
    Ah, I didn't see it was a G3... :eek:
     
  9. MacHappytjg thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Location:
    Winnipeg
    #9

    well if it had firewire i would be ok cause i could install it off my bros g5 imac
     
  10. misterredman macrumors 6502a

    misterredman

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    #10

    Just a couple questions:

    What do you plan to do once you have the system on the external HDD? you want to install the os on the external HDD and then install it inside your Imac?
     
  11. MacHappytjg thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Location:
    Winnipeg
    #11
    well i would if i could get the ppc os to load on the macbook but it doesnt work but w.e i KILLED MY IMAC DEADDDDDDDDDDDD:mad:
     
  12. misterredman macrumors 6502a

    misterredman

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    #12
    Sorry about that!

    Does this mean you give up with it?

    Since I really couldn't understand what you wanted to do with the external drive... :confused:
     
  13. MacHappytjg thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Location:
    Winnipeg
    #13
    basically yes i gave up on her now shes in parts
    anyone need a logic board but now im looking for a older computer for my secondary lik a powermac or somthing
     
  14. TuffLuffJimmy macrumors G3

    TuffLuffJimmy

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #14
    an old imac (even a dead one) has a significantly higher value that the pieces it is made from. Since they are so old you have basically worthless pieces on your hands now.
     
  15. MacHappytjg thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Location:
    Winnipeg
    #15
    yea i thought it was worthless when it was running :p
     

Share This Page