Intel HD 3000 Onlive gaming

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by metsjetsfan, Aug 10, 2011.

  1. metsjetsfan macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    #1
    Does anyone know how Intel HD 3000 looks/performs on onlive streaming gaming? Will it be better with the i7 and Radeon GPU vs Intel? And does Final Cut Pro use GPU or CPU more. Yes sorry another server vs i7 w Radeon GPU question.

    Thanks in advance
     
  2. dh2005 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    #2
    Hm. Interesting question. I'd like to know this, too.
     
  3. Vermifuge macrumors 6502a

    Vermifuge

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    #3
    I think right now the highest resolution supported by the OnLive desktop client is 1280x720. This should be no problem for the base mini and the HD 3000. OnLive works on my G1 MacBook Air (Equipped with a Intel GMA X3100) I believe the HD 3000 is a significant improvement over the Intel GMA X3100 so OnLive should theoretically have no problems.

    You should not see any significant improvement on the 6630M equipped minis. Even if the desktop client supported 1080p the base mini should do just fine. Though I would recommend upgrading to at least 4 GB ram if not 8 GB.
     
  4. metsjetsfan thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    #4
    Thanks, what about FCP, is it still true that INtel HD3000 doesn't support opencl? Did Lion fix any of that?
     
  5. maril1111 macrumors 68000

    maril1111

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Location:
    Denmark
    #5
    If i remember correctly Lion still doesn't have full support for the Intel 3000HD when it comes to the newest version OpenCL
     
  6. Zeov macrumors 6502a

    Zeov

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    Location:
    Odense
    #6
    isn't OnLive all about internet connection and nothing about computer specs???
     
  7. japtor macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    #7
    Pretty much. You just need something fast enough to display the video stream and encode/upload your input.
     
  8. btbrossard macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    #8
    You should be able to play OnLive on a pretty basic machine.

    The quality of your broadband is going to be way more important. Our at&t dsl wrecks OnLive (which is funny since at&t sponsored the one year free memberships that I got when OnLive was first introduced).
     

Share This Page