Intel HD 3000. Please clarify.

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Yellow 13, Apr 7, 2011.

  1. Yellow 13 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Location:
    Erusia
    #1
    Does it suck? I heard dat it sux. Many ppl say it's good tough.

    I use MB with G-Force 9400. Hmm should i buy this version of the MBP? Or should i wait for another evolution?
     
  2. Looon macrumors 6502a

    Looon

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2009
    #2
    Depends on what you're doing. If you're referring to game performance then yeah it's garbage, unless you're playing super mario bros you'll be disappointed
     
  3. brentsg macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    #3
    Do you like your GF 9400? The HD3000 is far faster than that.
     
  4. alust2013 macrumors 601

    alust2013

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    On the fence
    #4
    Ugh, it's awful, it can barely even display my blue background on the screen.

    /sarcasm

    It's about twice as powerful as the 9400m (if not more)
     
  5. 1quick1 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    #5
    It played SCII demo and medium/high no problems. It would run high on smaller battles and medium when there's a lot of action.

    I played a little World of Warcraft on it and it ran it at 30fps on medium settings ( I think there's low, medium, good, high, and ultra).

    So no you won't be running games on high/ultra but it'll play basic games on low/medium fine. If you want gaming get the 15/17'' with the better 1gb graphics card or build a desktop for cheaper.
     
  6. aCondor macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Location:
    United States
    #6
    I have the base 13" MPB. While gaming is somewhat limited with any Mac OSX, I have not come across any real issues. Sure, it's not going to be screaming fast. You won't be playing recently released games on high settings. But you can game on Medium. You can stream 1080P video without a hiccup. In fact, I stream a couple 1080P videos from Justin.tv without a problem. I'm new to Mac, but I've been able to configure and play COD4 (Medium Settings), Bioshock 1 (High Settings) and Amnesia (Medium Settings) with adequate frame rates.
    The 13" is not designed to be a gaming system. In fact, the 15" isn't really meant to game, either. But it does the job.

    Here's a video I made of the performance of my 2011 13" MBP playing COD4 with high settings. And video capture software. You be the judge.
    Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare on 13" 2011 Macbook Pro
     
  7. Macsavvytech macrumors 6502a

    Macsavvytech

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    #7
    I just have a windows partition for gaming, i do everything in Mac but if i need to play a game i will boot into windows for the increased gaming performance and wider variety.
     
  8. aCondor macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Location:
    United States
    #8
    Good choice. I concede that Windows has a much better platform for gaming.
     
  9. Yellow 13 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Location:
    Erusia
  10. solaris7 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    #10
    That is not saying much though, because the 9400 sucks to start with!
     
  11. brentsg macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    #11
    Actually it says a lot if you previously used a 9400 and it worked great.
     
  12. Yellow 13 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Location:
    Erusia
    #12
    can i replace graphics card? what dimension and type should i use?
     
  13. Apple 26.2 Contributor

    Apple 26.2

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Location:
    What up, 212?!
    #13
    Not on an MBP.
     
  14. josh2007 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    #14
    That was surprisingly impressive. I was expecting far less quality.
     
  15. Yellow 13 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Location:
    Erusia
    #15
    how about on the old alu MacBook?

    i'm considering on the base 13" MBP, problem is i'm a poorfag, so i'll have to wait. :p

    hmm, what graphic card fits my old alu MB? maybe the HD 3000 (i know, it's kinda silly)
     
  16. alFR macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    #16
    You can't change the graphics chip on any Apple laptop, they're soldered onto the motherboard... Plus the HD3000 is actually on the processor chip, so you wouldn't be swapping the graphics card you'd be swapping the processor, which wouldn't work in your old motherboard either.
     
  17. Yellow 13 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Location:
    Erusia
    #17
    remove the soldering and put something else there?
     
  18. alFR macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    #18
    Lordy. The pinouts won't be compatible, neither will the surrounding ancillary components. It can't be done.
     
  19. Yellow 13 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Location:
    Erusia

Share This Page