intel hd 4000 vram

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by sparwn, Dec 5, 2012.

  1. sparwn macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012
    #1
    i hav a cmbp (mid-2012 ) 2.3ghz

    3 months ago i upgraded the ram to 8gb and in system information it recognise all 8gb of ram and my integrated graphic vram was increased to 512mb from 384mb

    but today i checked system information it shows tat my vram for integrated graphics has dropped to 384mb again

    is my machine faulty??
    and i read the apple support article stating the vram for the intel hd 4000 graphic card can reach 768mb of gram.
    i assume that ail happen with a 16gb ram machine
    has any1 manage to reach tat vram memory??
     

    Attached Files:

  2. snaky69 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    #2
    The latest graphics update for the 2012 MBP's does that. It's purely software, your machine is perfectly fine. The intel card can increases it's VRAM on demand depending on the load, like most integrated cards, the memory you see if the chunk of your RAM reserved exclusively for it.

    Everything's perfectly okay with your machine.
     
  3. sparwn thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012
    #3
    thanks for the reply.

    so any idea how how to get 768mb of vram?

    quote from apple:
    "Apple Computers using the Intel HD Graphics 4000 as the primary or secondary GPU reserve 384 MB to 768 MB of system memory. "

    http://support.apple.com/kb/HT3246#intel4000

    or is this a software feature that it will allocate accordingly?
     
  4. Adamantoise macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    #4
    Precisely.
     
  5. sparwn thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012
    #5
    do i need 16gb of ram to make the 768mb happen or it does occur with just 8gb of ram?
     
  6. Adamantoise macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    #6
    That I admittedly do not know.

    What I can tell you though is that more memory will not improve the performance of the HD4000.
     
  7. blevins321 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Location:
    Winnipeg, MB
    #7
    The latest update made 8GB only provide 384. My laptop has 16GB and only hits 512mb allocated.
     
  8. dusk007 macrumors 68040

    dusk007

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    #8
    It doesn't really matter anyway as you won't get anymore performance from it.
     
  9. sparwn thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012
    #9
    does this mean apple expect the dedicated gpu to run more often on task which normally the integrated gpu can handle?
     
  10. xAgustinx macrumors regular

    xAgustinx

    Joined:
    May 22, 2012
    #10
    After the update, I had 4 gb and 512 mb in vram.

    Now, I have 16 gb and still 512 mb vram.
     
  11. snaky69 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    #11
    More VRAM does not equal more graphics power, so I don't see why you'd want more.
     
  12. Rhinoevans macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2012
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #12
    I have the 2012 cMBP and just installed 16g Ram and only have 384 being displayed.

    As stated earlier, IT DOESNT MATTER. It will use what it needs, regardless of the displayed vram.

    Probably some coding error on last ML update, because I was also showing 512 with the original 4G Ram.
     

Share This Page