Intel HD Graphics 3000, 64 mb Dedicated video memory in Bootcamp?

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by Pandiux, Sep 26, 2011.

  1. Pandiux macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2011
    #1
    Ok, so I bought my mac for work and casual gaming. In Mac OS X if I go to About My Mac and the More Info, it tells me I have Intel HD Graphics 3000 with 384 mb video ram. Now my problem is when I boot on to my bootcamp partition because that is where I play most of my games, and then go to the control panel to check my computer specs, it will tell me I have 64mb dedicated memory which lets me run practically nothing. I may just run 3D programs at their lowest and still not get the desired performance. I do have installed Intel's generic drivers, any help would be appreciated :).
    :confused: :confused: :confused: :confused: :confused: :confused:
     
  2. cluthz macrumors 68040

    cluthz

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Location:
    Norway
    #2
    Did you run the bootcamp drivers install. Generic Intel drivers are usually bad.
     
  3. iNeko, Sep 27, 2011
    Last edited: Sep 27, 2011

    iNeko macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 13, 2007
    Location:
    England
    #3
    I may be wrong, but I think Windows shows shared graphics as having "64MB" as a holding number.

    The intel graphics chip will suck it's video memory from your RAM (I think the HD 3000 can use up to 512MB in Windows, depending on amount of RAM) but it'll only show it as having 64MB, as it's only using that amount at that time.

    Mac OS allocates as much as it can (with 4GB of RAM, it'll allocate 384MB) and then forgets about it (so the intel chip always has 384MB) Whereas Windows allocates 64MB (the bare minimum the intel chip wants, basically) then can up it if it needs more.

    :eek: As I said, I may be wrong, but I think that's how it works!

    Edit: Answering your question, the intel chip will still have 384MB (possibly more) of video memory in Windows, but only when it needs it :)
     
  4. doh123 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    #4
    Mac OS X will use more than 384 as well if you have 8Gb of ram. Mine shows it as 512mb in Apple System Profiler, but it only said 384 until I upgraded to 8Gb.
     
  5. Bluedog54 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011
    Location:
    Boston
    #5
    Another reason to upgrade to 8GB RAM. Wonder if that number will increase with 16GB.
     
  6. Jethryn Freyman macrumors 68020

    Jethryn Freyman

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #6
    Have you installed the Boot Camp drivers?

    Not that it really matters, the HD 3000 is such a bad graphics chip that any more than about 128MB of memory would make no difference to its' performance. The chip itself will bottleneck faster than the memory attached to it.
     
  7. doh123 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    #7
    I doubt it... I think Intel has a 512mb limit on it.
     
  8. shortcut3d macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    #8
    Windows 7 Professional 64-bit with 16GB RAM shows the following after a fresh restart.

    Minimum Graphics Memory: 64MB
    Maximum Graphics Memory: 1696MB
    Graphics Memory In Use: 91MB
     
  9. antoinelaforest macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    #9
    Hi,

    The problem is that such games (like Pro Evolution Soccer) verify before launching that the computer has the minimum video specifications. These games, which need only 128MB or 256MB of VRAM, can't be started only because Windows say that Intel Graphics 3000 has 64MB VRAM.

    Did anyone find a solution to fix that problem ?

    Thanks ! :confused:
     

Share This Page