Intel HD graphics

Discussion in 'iMac' started by piti, May 4, 2011.

  1. piti macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    #1
    Anyone has a clue if Apple use integrated Intel HD graphics in SandyBridge processors as it does in MBP ? I'm particularly interested if desktop CPU graphic (which I believe is lower spec than mobile HD2000 vs. HD3000) can drive 27'' display in normal desktop operations and discrete GPU can be turned off ? It would be also interesting to know if they use Sandy Bridge Quick sync for video transcoding - anyone have a clue about that ?
     
  2. TMRaven macrumors 68020

    TMRaven

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #2
    They all use discrete mobility 6k amd radeon graphics.
     
  3. Icy1007 macrumors 6502a

    Icy1007

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    #3
    The iMac doesn't use graphics switching like the MacBook Pro. So the discrete graphics are always enabled. I don't think the Intel HD 3000 graphics is even visible to the OS
     
  4. archer75 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Location:
    Oregon
    #4
    The z68 chipset has a feature that will utilize the graphics capablility of the CPU for various offloading tasks such as video encoding(on software that supports it)

    Can't remember what it's called. Don't know if it's enabled on the imacs.
     

Share This Page