Intel HD4000 for some games

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Windgrace, Jun 11, 2012.

1. Windgrace macrumors newbie

Ok, I (like you) have been waiting for the spec bump in the Macbook pro lineup for quite some time. I have a 5 year old Macbook that's ready to crap out on me.

I'm a college student, and mostly use the computer for surfing the web, emails, word documents, etc.

I also like play Diablo 3 (and maybe Torchlight 2 when it comes out).

My question is: Do I need to get the 15" for the dedicated graphics card, or will the 13" with Intel HD4000 run the game fine on low settings? I'd prefer the 13" for size/price, but if it can't run the game then I'll consider taking the size/price jump for the 15".

I called the Apple store near me and they said the 13" would be fine. Just wanted to make sure before I place my order (or drive down there after work and pick one up this week).

2. PAPO macrumors 6502

it SHOULD be fine on HD4000 but if you are playing any game you ALWAYS better off with a discrete GPU, trust me a 15" isn't that big, I lugged one around my last few years of High School no problem

3. mikeo007 macrumors 65816

The 13" will be fine for that. But don't expect to play games in the future. Diablo 3 is not a graphically intensive game, and the HD3000 in the previous gen MacBook really struggles with it.

4. Windgrace thread starter macrumors newbie

Other than Diablo 2+3, I don't really game much on computers. I might play Torchlight 2, but really I mostly plan on using the computer for college. There's a several hundred dollar price difference between 13" and 15." I'm not sure it's worth the jump just for one game, especially if the 13" could handle it.

5. mikeo007 macrumors 65816

It's your call, but you should think ahead. What if a Diablo 3 expansion comes out next year with higher requirements? You may not be able to play it. Just food for thought. I wouldn't buy a 13" MBP at all right now with the 13" Air at the same price.