Intel Microcode update?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Antonios, May 1, 2007.

  1. Antonios macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2007
    #1
    Taken from www.rage3d.com:

    "Intel releases critical Core 2 Duo microcode update - Silently
    Apr 29, 2007 at 09:33 PM by caveman-jim
    Post a comment Comment on this item
    Around April 10th, 2007, Intel released a microcode update (BIOS flash to the rest of us) so resolve several major issues with how Intel Core 2 series processors operate.

    Intel has provided a microcode update as a critical software fix. This Intel microcode update addresses an improper Translation Lookaside Buffer (TLB) invalidation that may result in unpredictable system behavior such as system hangs or incorrect data. OEM's are making available a system BIOS upgrade that integrates a new version of this Intel microcode to address this potential but extremely rare issue. While the occurrence of this issue is extremely rare, OEM's strongly recommends upgrading the system BIOS to an updated version. Intel has indicated that the microcode update has no known measurable performance impact and provides a complete and comprehensive resolution to this issue.

    The issues can affect any workstation that uses Intel Core2 Duo desktop processor E4000 and E6000 sequences, Intel Core2 Quad desktop processor Q6600 and Intel Core2 Extreme processors X6800 and QX6700 processors.

    While the implications of the issue are difficult to quantify, any of the following symptoms can occur:

    The system may stop responding to keyboard or mouse input.

    A system operating in a Microsoft Windows environment may generate a blue screen.

    A system operating in a Linux environment may generate a kernel panic.

    Thanks to Guest for disclosing this information in General Hardware.

    Watch for BIOS updates for your motherboards!"

    So should we expect a similar update?
     
  2. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #2
    MacPro only?
     
  3. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #3
    Nope. Mac Pros use Xeon (Workstation) processors. Whilst they are basically the same as the below they are technically different models with different model numbers. No shipping Mac uses any of those CPUs.
     
  4. diamond.g macrumors 603

    diamond.g

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Location:
    Virginia
    #4
    I don't think Apple uses any of the listed CPU's in their systems. MacPro uses X5365 (Xeon Processor). And the iMac and Macbooks use the T series processors (mobile chips).

    Of course the wording of the press release is kinda odd. If it affects all Core 2 series processors why only list the desktop variants?
    Edit: dang robbie you beat me to it.
     
  5. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #5
    Yeah, you wasted time looking up the actual model numbers :D
     

Share This Page