Intel OSX on a G4 Mac?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by mm2005, Mar 18, 2009.

  1. mm2005 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    #1
    What happens if I swap the HD from an intel MacBook to a G4 PowerBook? Will it boot? Will all software work?

    The MacBook is broken, and I'd like to use it's larger drive in my old laptop.
     
  2. Queso macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    #2
    Nope, it won't work. The OS binaries are Intel-only.
     
  3. mm2005 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    #3
    ok, thanks for the quick reply, guess I'll have to move a few files around before installing the bigger drive
     
  4. madog macrumors 65816

    madog

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2004
    Location:
    Korova Milkbar
    #4
    I know for a fact that I did read it would theoretically be possible, although it was in the early days of Leopard, didn't read that it was official or tested, and after that would assume if anything it would only work if installed from a retail disk as the system restore disks would be specifically Intel related.

    While the Leopard disk can be installed on either, is that something that is ever possible? After software/drivers I suppose it would only then be possible if you could change the partition table from GUID to Apple Partition, which as far as I know can only be done while formatting.

    Any of that true or am I crazy?
     
  5. SmurfBoxMasta macrumors 65816

    SmurfBoxMasta

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    Location:
    I'm only really here at night.
    #5
    You can NOT format a hdd in a PPC mac as anything but HFS+/journaled or FAT32/DOS using APM......regardless of what install media you use.....

    And besides that, PPC processors are not capable of executing intel-based code instructions anyways :eek:
     

Share This Page