Intel Power Gadget shows 1.2 Ghz

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by rixard, May 6, 2016.

  1. rixard macrumors member

    rixard

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Location:
    Sweden
    #1
    So I've been using Intel Power Gadget to monitor my m7 1.3 Ghz. When my computer is idling - it always lists 1.2 ghz, Minecraft reports that my CPU is a 1.2 as well. I can see that it turbos up to well over 2 Ghz when needed.

    I thought 1.3 would be the base clock of the m7?
     
  2. T'hain Esh Kelch macrumors 601

    T'hain Esh Kelch

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2001
    Location:
    Denmark
    #2
    Is has something to do with the tool you use I assume.

    System report shows my m3 as being "@ 0.9 Ghz @ 1.1 Ghz", so I assyme the power gadget app reports only the first number.
     
  3. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #3
    All Intel's current CPUs support SpeedStep, which basically means that the CPU will underclock itself when it's not used or the workload is very light to reduce power draw and increase battery life.

    Or there might also be an issue with the gadget because it also shows 1.2GHz all the time for my m3, which is supposed to run at 1.1GHz.
     
  4. rixard thread starter macrumors member

    rixard

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Location:
    Sweden
  5. Idarzoid macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    #5
    The default clocks of Skylake m3/m5/m7 are actually 0.9/1.1/1.2Ghz.

    Apple upped the default clocks of these for rMB.
     

Share This Page