Intel Power Gadget : What's your CPU clock speed ?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by rueyloon, Sep 13, 2014.

  1. rueyloon macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2013
    #1
    Here is a mac version of the Intel Power App, for the ppl on the nMP, that is the speed your cpu is working at ? you can try different work flow and see the turboboost that your CPU can hit.

    I'm interested to find out when it is all maxed out in processing (like a multiple instance Compressor export) what's the constant clock speed that it limits itself to.

    https://software.intel.com/en-us/articles/intel-power-gadget-20
     
  2. VirtualRain, Sep 14, 2014
    Last edited: Sep 14, 2014

    VirtualRain macrumors 603

    VirtualRain

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #2
    Here's a thread on this subject from back when I got my nMP...
    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1694931

    Conclusion was that you will not reach the top turbo speed for your CPU because it requires shutting cores down into C3/C6 sleep which is not supported by some BIOS/EFI firmware (e.g. Apple nMP).
     
  3. rueyloon thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2013
    #3
    Hi, from your screen shot, seems like the best CPU is the 8 core 3.3. hits all the high notes all the way up to 8 cores.

    There is also a 10 core 3.0, I wonder how that processor performs.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. VirtualRain macrumors 603

    VirtualRain

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #4
    Yeah, except the two CPUs in red are not offered in the nMP. You could possibly do an upgrade on your own though, or I believe OWC is doing upgrades (including the 10-core) but they're not cheap.

    The sweet spot this generation is definitely the 6-core... Best bang for the buck.
     
  5. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #5
    I wish to heck, this thing worked on the cMP (5,1) dual CPU.

    Lou
     
  6. Draeconis macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #6
    It unfortunately doesn't seem to support Xeons.. :(
     
  7. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #7
    ^^^^The Nmp uses Xeons. It's the Dual Xeons that it doesn't like.

    Lou
     

    Attached Files:

  8. Draeconis macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #8
    Well it doesn't like mine either, and I have a single Xeon W3670.
     
  9. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
  10. xcodeSyn macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    #10
    The app only works for 2nd generation Core processors and later as stated, which means Sandy Bridge and later generations, and your CPU is not in that group. Since Apple only make single-processor Macs with these processors, including nMPs, it really doesn't matter the app only works for single-processor Macs.
     
  11. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #11
    This one
    Untitled.png
     
  12. Draeconis macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008

Share This Page