Intel processors on the new Retina MB(A): can they push the extra pixels without lag?

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by Jobsian, Mar 9, 2015.

  1. Jobsian macrumors 6502a

    Jobsian

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    #1
    First, really excited about the new Retina MB, incredibly designed machine!

    The CPUs though, they're using Intel's 4.5W 1.1 GHz and 1.2 GHz Core M, former turbos to 2.6GHz, the other to 2.9GHz, list here (bottom two):

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Intel_Core_M_microprocessors

    Any ideas whether or not we're gonna start to see the same laggy retina screen problem that plagued the first rMBPs? This would be a dealbreaker for me.
     
  2. Hieveryone macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2014
    #2
    This computer is botched by Apple. Will it lag? Probably not. They're good at making people believe it's good on the outside.

    But

    Can you do anything more than facebook on it?

    Probably not.

    Hitup a 4K video and see how long that **** takes to buffer even with 30mbps internet.
     
  3. Meister Suspended

    Meister

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2013
    #3
    The HD5300 will push the pixels just fine, just don't expect any processing power from the CPU.

    What really shocks me is the missing magsafe. That is not good!
     
  4. Jobsian thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Jobsian

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    #4
    True, I'd forgotten that this integrated chip destroys the one in the first rMBPs.

    Someone on the Discussion page said these CPUs match 2009 chips, anyone have any reference for what to expect?
     
  5. Mcdevidr macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2013
    #5
    The biggest problem for me is screen realestate. Isnt the best for retina going to only display 1152x720 that is worse than the 11.6 macbook air. So then you would have to run at a scaled resolution to get something better. You could see in the video that the iMessage window took up nearly the entire screen.
     
  6. yegon macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    #6
    My thoughts exactly. That's less vertical space than an iPad in landscape!
     
  7. motrek macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    #7
    Nah, the Core M will perform just as well as any other chip for short periods of time. The problem is with sustained computing. If you hammer the chip for a while (maybe 20-40 seconds?) then it will get too hot or exhaust its power budget and run half as fast as a current MBA.

    Most people don't do any sustained computing. They will hammer the CPU for maybe a couple seconds (to render a new web page) then spend a while reading said web page, rinse, repeat.

    So for most people in most situations, they wouldn't notice a difference.

    Although... it will be interesting to see how quickly the chip can cool off since it doesn't have a fan. If you DO do some sustained computing, it might mean the laptop will run slow for the next few minutes... or longer...
     
  8. mi7chy macrumors 68040

    mi7chy

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2014
    #8
    Currently using a fanless Core M and while it's fine and usable at 1080p I wouldn't consider taxing it with higher resolution.
     
  9. Jobsian thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Jobsian

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    #9
    This is dealbreaker info. You say 'usable', would there be regular skipping at 1080p?

    ----------

    Yep, been wondering how it'd handle a handbrake encode, hopefully the throttling isn't too bad, definitely waiting until we find out
     
  10. motrek macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    #10
    I think that's what the advertised clock speed is for, e.g., 1.1GHz or whatever.

    It indicates the chip's minimum sustained performance for the advertised heat/power budget. So when throttling starts, the new MacBook will run at 1.1GHz vs. 2.7GHz for a MBA because the MBA doesn't throttle. So for HandBrake it will be 40% as fast. That's my guess.
     

Share This Page