Intel retires "tick-tock?"

Discussion in 'Apple, Inc and Tech Industry' started by pat500000, Mar 23, 2016.

  1. pat500000 macrumors 603

    pat500000

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    #1
  2. fusionid macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2015
    #2
    forget the macpro. All computer models will run into delayed updates or new cycles as the case maybe.

    It is a fallacy approach at best. Intel should only make a new dye diameter per cycle. What would be the speed benefit from skylake to kaby lake? 2%? What a waste of R&D
     
  3. pat500000 thread starter macrumors 603

    pat500000

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    #3
    Everything will be delayed, huh? Pretty sad IMO.
     
  4. cruisin macrumors 6502a

    cruisin

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Location:
    Canada
    #4
    There will still be 400-600 days between updates for Intel, there will just be 3 releases instead of 2 per process size. The real question is when will Apple update. The current iMac has Skylake based CPUs but Apple didn't add the new Skylake features like Thunderbolt 3.

    If a new CPU is released and Apple does't like it they will skip it. Considering that the current Pro (codename Trashcan) is still using the original parts from 2013 while 3 newer Xeons exist means that the Pro is on a weird update cycle.
     
  5. pat500000 thread starter macrumors 603

    pat500000

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    #5
    So, intel is ready for mac pro then, right? With the recent news in regards to macbook...it's giving me the willie as it's not too far away for WDCC. Also, when they release 3 rather than 2...that must be a good sign then.
     
  6. fastlanephil macrumors 6502a

    fastlanephil

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    #6
    It sounds like a SJ reality distortion field maneuver.
     
  7. pat500000 thread starter macrumors 603

    pat500000

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    #7
    Huh? what do you mean by that?
     
  8. thefredelement macrumors 65816

    thefredelement

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Location:
    New York
    #8
    It's not like the e5-v2 has been pulled off the shelves, or that the v4 has been easily available for mass production. Idk what's it's status is today but a few months ago they were hard to get.
     
  9. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
  10. G4DPII macrumors regular

    G4DPII

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2015
    #10
    I think Larry, Curly and Moe, would be more adapt names at the moment.

    Still doesn't make sense to upgrade the CPU, yet not bring everything it can offer long with it. Unless Intel want more money for using TB3 instead of TB3.
     
  11. fusionid macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2015
    #11
    I should also clarify that necessary upgrades not coupled to CPU net speed and power include USB 3 and C type adapters, thunderbolt 3, faster video cards, better display (for Imac), better SDD and access speeds.

    The issue is consumerism. Intel is unable to keep the pace but knows needs a new model once a year to keep luring new comers and investors. same thing as buying a brand new car when design has not changed in 3 years.
     
  12. AidenShaw macrumors P6

    AidenShaw

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Location:
    The Peninsula
    #12
    But TB3 isn't in the Xeon chipset.... Why don't people understand that.
     
  13. G4DPII macrumors regular

    G4DPII

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2015
    #13
    I wasn't refering to the Mac Pro specifically. I would imagine all the but those under a stone have given up on it ever being a cutting edge machine again.

    I meant in generall, Apple now seem to take two or three steps back when it comes to CPU's used in products.
     
  14. mattspace macrumors 6502

    mattspace

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2013
    Location:
    Australia
    #14
    The TB3 situation is further complicated by Intel exercising their rights to control certification for TB3 - in other words, even if Apple could put together a system with a Broadwell Xeon and Alpine Ridge chipset to make TB3 work, they can't release it without Intel's blessing. So far, it seems Intel's attitude is that TB3 is a Skylake feature.

    *if* they do a Broadwell / Fiji / TB2 update... it's going to be fun watching Phil try to bluster about how TB3 is really only necessary for external graphics processing (which they'll whitelist to their just-powerful-enough-to-drive-the-screen eGPU-based 5k monitor until Skylake Xeons ship) and the new machine doesn't need that because it's "new" graphics cards are so "pro", and anyway TB2 is good enough on some synthetic storage test, plus here's some obscure multilinked TB2 enclosure that aggregates the bandwidth to be just as fast as TB3, so pay no attention to the man behind the curtain....
     

Share This Page