Intel SSD , New MBP ISSUES

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by MacModMachine, Jul 2, 2009.

  1. MacModMachine macrumors 68020

    MacModMachine

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Location:
    Canada
    #1
    hi,

    recently got my new replacement unit, which happens to be the new unibody.


    installed both my intel ssd's , system took a dump, have found the issue to be that , while any intel ssd is installed into my optical drive slot...you cannot format it with journaled filesystems.

    can anyone confirm this...or is it my laptop ?

    i have tried 4 diffrent intel ssds...same results.:(
     
  2. geoffreak macrumors 68020

    geoffreak

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    #2
    Switching the two drives confirms that each one works while in the normal location, but not the optical slot?
     
  3. steperjw macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    #3
    installing tiger on new MBP 17"

    I have a june ver. of mbp 09.
    I want install Tiger OS on this new MBP 17" but it rejects every way I tryed.
    and didn't read my 08 ver MBP tiger DVD from apple either. any ideas!
     
  4. Frosties macrumors 6502a

    Frosties

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Location:
    Sweden
    #4
    Can't be done from what I know. You could try to use virtualization software but I have no idea if that works due to tiger not having drivers to install on newer hardware.
     
  5. onedamngoal macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    #5
    I had the firmware update install before I installed my X25-E. Installation went smooth as silk. Have you tried installing just one SSD with the firmware update?
     
  6. MacModMachine thread starter macrumors 68020

    MacModMachine

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Location:
    Canada
    #6
    the firmware's were updated out of the box , 8820's

    it one of the drives, i have found one to be failing.

    it will not format anymore.
     
  7. Lounge Deluxe macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    #7
    Is this in raid-0 mode or in non-raid mode?

    I'm about to buy a X25-E as a system disk and install a X25-M instead of the optical drive, so I'm very interested in your issue and its solution.
     
  8. ux4all macrumors regular

    ux4all

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Location:
    Chicago, IL, USA
    #8
    Me as well as I have a RAID 0 in my uMB with dual X25 80GB. Now that the firmware will support the 3GB rate, I was watching for any issues (while I save my $$ so I can pay for an MBP). I'm also interested to hear if anyone has pulled their optical and will the old MCE sled work too.
     

Share This Page