Intel X-25M Bootcamp update

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by bugout, Mar 30, 2009.

  1. bugout macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Location:
    is everything!
  2. mmoran27 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    #2
    Has anyone actually gotten this update?

    I contacted Intel and noone knows what they are talking about. They said they'll call me back.

    Yea right.
     
  3. Eddyisgreat macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    #3
    Very nice. Thanks for the update. I too would hope that intel wouldn't throw its customers who drop 400+ on bleeding edge technology under the bus. I would rather virtualize windows and I havn't run into any serious speed issues (my mbp goes from cold boot to desktop in 5 seconds after two months of usage) but those who are affected by this issue will be glad there's a way to fix it.
     
  4. plesset macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2004
    #4
    I can confirm that I do have boot camp running on my x25-m 160gb. Works fine.
     
  5. Eddyisgreat macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    #5
    As per the AnandTech article, 160gb and late x25-m models are not affected. Bootcamp will not run on my early x25-m.
     
  6. stylinexpat macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    #6
    Any problems at all? Do you have Windows XP or Vista? How quick is bootup with your SSD for OSX and for Windows?
     
  7. tubbymac macrumors 65816

    tubbymac

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    #7
    It's nice that they have finally fixed the bootcamp problem for the newer drives. Contacting support about the old drives though seems a bit lame though. I'm sure a lot of original buyers of the 80 gig Intel SSD have done that already, ages ago, and got pretty much nowhere.
     
  8. plesset macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2004
    #8
    No problems at all. My bootup is pretty darn quick as you can imagine with the ssd. I am using good old XP.
     
  9. TechViking macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    #9
    I want to know this too. What is the fix? Firmware update?

    I went through the intel support phases 2 weeks ago. It was useless. It ended with the support person just stating that there was nothing wrong with the X25-M etcetera. That's the answer I got a week ago though. I just sent him an email with the link to the article, it'll be interesting to see what he will say this time.
     
  10. iJimmy macrumors regular

    iJimmy

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    #10
    I was wondering how you could tell if you have the new or old version of the 80GB x-25m?
     
  11. TechViking macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    #11
    I guess if you can install Windows in boot camp on it, you have the "new" version. :)

    I dont think the hardware has changed at all though, it must be the firmware that is updated.
     
  12. mmoran27 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    #12
    Intel is really lame on this - There is no fix

    Thank you for contacting Intel® Technical Support.

    I understand that you need to fund out if there is a fix from Intel® so the Intel® X25-M SATA Solid State Drive to work with the Boot Camp software.

    Please note that at this moment there is no Intel® fix for this issue, and there is no estimated date for a possible fix, since this software is not supported by Intel®. You may be able to get a resolution from Apple*.

    We are sorry for any inconveniences this may cause.

    Regards,
     
  13. iJimmy macrumors regular

    iJimmy

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    #13
    Thanks, now all I need is a functional superdrive
     
  14. TechViking macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    #14
    Were you able to install Windows with bootcamp on your x25? If so what is your firmware version?
     
  15. steve31 macrumors 6502a

    steve31

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    Location:
    Edmonton Canada
    #15
    I just ordered a Intel ssd x25m 80gb today. I do not need to install bootcamp but If I can it would be a bonus. I will try it when I get it on Monday.
     
  16. iJimmy macrumors regular

    iJimmy

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    #16
    I haven't tried installing windows because I don't have a functional dvd drive. I'll let you know when I do.
     
  17. iJimmy macrumors regular

    iJimmy

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    #17
    I guess I have the old version... I get a " Press Any Key to Restart... Disk Error"
     
  18. mmoran27 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    #18
    If you look on the drive there's a number

    There's a number that starts with e and ends like 901 902 or 903.

    Boot camp will only work with revision 903.
     
  19. iJimmy macrumors regular

    iJimmy

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    #19
    Mine is the 902... :(
     
  20. TechViking macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    #20
    Cheer up. The firmware upgrade tool will be available soon. :)
     
  21. iJimmy macrumors regular

    iJimmy

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    #21
    I sure hope so, Intel has been saying that for months. I'm looking forward to installing Windows 7 on my boot drive.
     
  22. steve31 macrumors 6502a

    steve31

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    Location:
    Edmonton Canada
  23. mmoran27 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    #23
    You will have to RMA your drive

    There will be no firmware update tool. This is a hardware revision.

    That is straight from intel. Getting mine tomorrow.
     
  24. TechViking macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    #24
    mmoran27 you have this wrong.

    There will be a firmware upgrade tool available. It will upgrade any X25-M to the latest firmware which will then be compatible with Boot camp on Nvidia based macs.

    It is a pure software update. The hardware is not changed.

    The firmware update tool itself may however be needed to run on a non-Nvidia based PC/Mac to upgrade the firmware. Basically the X25-M connected to any non-Nvidia (PC)/Mac via internal SATA port will work.

    In case the end user does not have access to such a computer, the solution will then be to RMA the X25-M.
     

Share This Page