INTEL X25-M SSD does not match MAP PRO Mount

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by go4d1, Aug 31, 2010.

  1. go4d1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    #1
    I thought it would be an advantage to have a drive that would either fit in a MAC PRO or a laptop, so I opted for the INTEL X25.

    Bad news--The adapter does not line up with the MAC PRO mount.

    If anybody has a solution, please let me know. Otherwise it goes up on eBay Sept 2nd.

    Thanks
     
  2. alust2013 macrumors 601

    alust2013

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    On the fence
    #2
    Just get a 2.5" to 3.5" drive converter. I believe pretty much all current SSDs are 2.5" and the majority of desktops use 3.5". The converter just takes up that extra space.
     
  3. jedijoe macrumors 6502

    jedijoe

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Location:
    Boulder, CO
    #3
  4. Sankersizzle macrumors 6502a

    Sankersizzle

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Location:
    Canadadada
    #4
    I disagree. SSD's are among the most sensitive hard drives. I remember one SSD I had, I commented to my friend about how heavy it was. The SSD, assuming I was calling it fat refused to work. I had to buy it roses and a box of chocolates before it would even mount again.
     
  5. Inconsequential macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    #5
    No, why would it!? It's a 2.5" drive :p

    Get a specialised 2.5" to 3.5" adapter...
     
  6. go4d1 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    #6
    The Intel Ad is Misleading!!

    The ad on NewEgg clearly states:

    Includes installation kit that contains: 3.5" desktop drive bay adapter to 2.5" SSD adapter bracket, screws, installation guide, and warranty documentation

    That bracket is worthless!!!!!
     
  7. ventro macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    #7
    The X25 is so light you can just stick it in the plug and hold it up with a strip of electrical tape. Thats what I did over a year ago while shopping for an appropriate mount for the drive, and I ended up just leaving it in like that.
     
  8. jedijoe macrumors 6502

    jedijoe

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Location:
    Boulder, CO
    #8
    Yea, that bracket doesn't support sleds of any kind, not MacPro, not any server enclosure with cable-less sleds. Again, leave newegg feedback saying it doesn't work with sled mounts, like the one in a MacPro, then spend $20 on the Icy Dock and get on with your life :)
     
  9. J the Ninja macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    #9
    Cases with a sled/backplane setup need a bracket that either has an extension cable, or holds the drive so the connectors sit in the standard 3.5 position. Normal 2.5 > 3.5 brackets generally have neither.

    P.S. Unless you have a 2008 or earlier machine, use your second optical drive bay. No adapter needed, just set it on the "floor" of the little mounting caddy.
     
  10. go4d1 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    #10
    This site is terrific - Thank you all

    I feel secure that with this site, my problems will find an solution.


    Thank you all!
     
  11. sboerup macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    #11
    Use tape or heaven forbid put it into the 2nd optical bay. Not a big deal.
     
  12. SmilesLots macrumors regular

    SmilesLots

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Location:
    SW Virginia
    #12
    I put two 80 gb Intels in a raid ) on the extra sata ports of my 1,1 Pro. I then put a rubber band around the two and wedged them in between the 3rd and 4th hard drives and the memory cage using model railroad rubber roadbed. Works just fine.
     

Share This Page