Intel X25M G2 2.5" to 3.5" Spacer Fit in Mac Pro?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Rendition, Sep 4, 2009.

  1. Rendition macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    #1
    Does the 2.5mm spacer in the C1 and R5 SKUs fit in the Mac Pro drive bay? So I won't have to buy the Icy Dock 2.5" to 3.5" converter?

    INTEL SSDSA2MH080G2C1 X25M 80GB 2.5" Solid State Drive
    INTEL SSDSA2MH080G2R5 X25M 80GB 2.5" Solid State Drive

    01 = 7.0mm thick
    C1 = 01 + 2.5mm spacer to fit in standard 9.5mm height
    R5 = C1 + retail packaging
     
  2. Infrared macrumors 68000

    Infrared

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    #2
    I'd be interested to know, too.

    Also, if anyone would like to share hi-res pics of their
    2.5->3.5 adapters, that would be great as I can't go
    into a shop and look at the things in person.

    Thanks.
     
  3. Thiol macrumors 6502a

    Thiol

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    #3
    I'm confused. Even with the spacer, it's still a standard size 2.5" laptop drive and will need a 2.5" to 3.5" to fit in the Mac Pro drive bay.
     
  4. gugucom macrumors 68020

    gugucom

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Location:
    Munich, Germany
    #4
    There are super thin laptops like the MBA that will use 7 mm but all others will use 9,5 hence the spacer. It has nothing to do with the adaptation to 3,5" drive bays.
     
  5. PolkaGuy6000 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    #5
    Not a matter of size

    The problem with the included adapter isn't the size. The problem is it mounts the 2.5" drive into the middle of the adapter
    so instead of
    ___||_-------

    you get
    ---___||_----

    The way the mac pro mounts the drives, it needs to be in exactly the right space
     
  6. rrdiaz30 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Location:
    Austin TX
  7. bld44 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    #7
    The spacer included does NOT work for the Mac Pro.

    Get an adapter, I personally like the MaxConnect:

    As you can see, the SSD needs to be to the very far side of the sled.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  8. grue macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Location:
    Somewhere.
    #8
    I used the including adapter to couple to a 3.5->5.25 adapter and put it in the ODD bay, so I could retain the sleds for platter drives.
     
  9. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
  10. steffi macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    #10
    With MaxConnect is it necessary to use their sled? Isn't the sled the same spec as the standard one? If not why not?

     
  11. rrdiaz30 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Location:
    Austin TX
    #11
    Steffi,

    The MaxConnect offsets the SSD to make the connection to the backplane. It does this by using the black heatsink frame, and the screw-in points to the sled look different than the Mac carrier sled. Take a look at the video. I am going to end up placing mine in the spare optical bay with this unit and use the remaining 3 apple sleds for platters.

    Rick
     
  12. rrdiaz30 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Location:
    Austin TX
    #12
    MaxUpgrades also has a MaxConnect solution for the optical bay that can house, 1, 2 and 4 ssd drives here. A bit pricey though.

    Rick
     
  13. K6-III macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #13
  14. bld44 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    #14
    No, the sled is not the same spec. Yes, it's the right size to fit perfectly in the Mac Pro, but the mounting screws are in different places. You can't just attach the OEM adapter to the Mac Pro sled, as Rick has pointed out.

    Also, the IcyDock will work just fine. I found the MaxConnect to be a little more elegant and appropriate to be inside the Mac Pro case.
     
  15. steffi macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    #15
    I would have prefered that they make a bracket that adapts the drive from the existing sled rather than provide their own. You'd think that would be possible.


     

Share This Page