Intel Xeon's E5345 on Mac Pro 3,1 logic board

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Spacedust, Mar 18, 2010.

  1. Spacedust macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #1
    Will it run or only Xeon 5400 series are supported ?

    Can I put slower 5400 series like E5405 2.0 GHz ?
     
  2. product26 macrumors 6502a

    product26

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    #2
    e5345 will work in the 1,1 mac pro. I don't know for sure that it doesn't in the 3,1 machines, but I wouldn't count on it.

     
  3. Spacedust thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #3
    I know, because I got one :)
     
  4. hyram macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    #4
    I think it'll work, so go ahead and give it a try! It certainly won't damage anything.
     
  5. Spacedust thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #5
    I'm still worried that I've got wrong stepping in my CPU's on Mac Pro 2008, so it's not booting.

    I got SLBBN, while Apple was using always SLANT.

    There will be an Apple expert on wednesday visiting the service center where my Mac Pro 2008 is being repaired :)

    Everything is working, but no chime and no video :/ They've never seen such issue before.
     
  6. hyram macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    #6
    These were the E5462's right? Any chance you could get a hold of an SLANT stepping? There are post somewhere that show it'll run with just one processor so you don't need a pair. Really any processor with a CPUID of 10676h should work as the microcode for this is included in the firmware.

    I'm VERY interested in how this turns out, please keep us posted!
     
  7. Spacedust thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #7
    Currently not :/ I will post news in my thread :)
     
  8. Spacedust thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #8
    It's confirmed that this board will not work with SLBBN ! SLANT only if you want E5462. I need to grab pair of these :/
     
  9. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #9
    This is crucial thing - all SLBBx CPUs have CPUID 1067Ah and E0 stepping.
    So, C0 stepping CPUs (SLANx) are only upgrade options for MP 2008. This means, that X5492 will never work in those MPs.

    No, 5405 has 1333 FSB and will not work (maybe will with BSEL mod, but i don't know for sure is it possible with MP 08).

    Slowest you can use is 5462.
     
  10. hyram macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    #10
    Space, Please provide as much detail as you can as to how it was comfirmed that the SLBBN parts won't work. Thanks!
     
  11. Spacedust thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #11
    I will get 2 pieces of SLANT soon. Also I will test my current SLAC5 and SLAEJ (E5345's) just to make an experiment if it support Xeon 5300 series.
     
  12. hyram macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    #12
    The microcode for both the SLAEJ and SLAC5 is in the mp3,1. But this will be an interesting test as the bus speed for both of these is 1333MHz while the logic board is really designed for 1600MHz. In theory this should work, just at the lower speed.

    Can't wait to see the results. How soon before you can test this?
     
  13. Spacedust thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #13
    This week I will get my Mac Pro from service and do all tests. I hope my new logic board is OK.

    Service guy will call me tommorow and tell me which CPU's they've tested.

    Some people who's got currently Mac Pro 2008 2.8 GHz can update their machines to E5472/X5472 3.0 GHz or X5482 3.2 GHz in future if these CPU's will be in good prices. Someone on the web already did that and it works. No need to change motherboard or radiators. These processors are very cool when idle ;)
     
  14. Spacedust thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #14
    GREAT NEWS !!! Got my Mac Pro from service today, so I've opened my old Mac Pro 2006 and taken one of my E5345 and putted into Mac Pro 2008.

    And hey.... it works ! Mac OS X got kernel panic (probably due to wrong FSB), but Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit is working with 1 problem: I cannot set correct date, because it will freeze and fans will spin at 100% :/

    So all I have to do now is to grab a pair of SLANT's and I'm done :D
     
  15. Spacedust thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #15
    I've changed the battery and used the firmware restoration CD, but still cannot change date in Windows 7, so it's something with processors.

    So using Xeon's 5300 series in Mac Pro 3,1 (2008) is not recommended ! Use them only to test the logic board if you don't have 5400 series with FSB 1600 (E5462 and higher).

    X5492 is not supported !
     
  16. hyram macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
  17. Spacedust thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #17
    On Windows it was 1333 MHz. Mac OS X is not booting (kernel panic at Apple logo).

    I've ordered two SLANT's in good price (300 Euro) :)
     
  18. Roman23 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    #18
    My former 2008 mac pro which..

    was a 3.00 ghz had the E0 chip in it.. and thus I think the 3.4 will now work in it.. I have www.desktarz.com checking it out for me.


     
  19. Spacedust thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #19
    Yeah. Please confirm it. Maybe only E5462 SLBBN doesn't work for some reason.
     

Share This Page