intell chip instalation

Discussion in 'macOS' started by lilfoot2000, Jan 5, 2010.

  1. lilfoot2000 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    #1
    how do i install a new intel chip to the original mac os x g5 there for installing the new ilife etc...
     
  2. yg17 macrumors G5

    yg17

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #2
    You can't. It's impossible to put an Intel processor into a G5.
     
  3. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #3
  4. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #4
    In terms of time and financial burden you're much better off just getting a new machine.
     
  5. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #5
    Its just not a chip, but rather a logic board that's been designed to use intel or powerpc chips. So as others have stated, its not as simple as plopping a new chip into the G5 Logic board.
     
  6. lilfoot2000 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    #6
    o.k any ideas!!

    forgive me, still learning im not cpu savvy!! its for a friend any suggestions?
     
  7. yg17 macrumors G5

    yg17

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #7
    Buy a new computer. It's really about the only thing you can do if you want an Intel Mac.
     
  8. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #8
    A mac Mini offers excellent performance for a minimal investment.
     

Share This Page