Interesting Apple Support Page Article about Ram

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by dj420118, Mar 1, 2008.

  1. dj420118 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    #1
    http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=304662

    I read the above link on apples support site and it says that when you install 4GB of ram in your MBP it shows 4GB on the "about this mac" window but everywhere else you look it will only show 3GB installed (i.e. Activity Monitor). Anyone know why this happens?
     
  2. Vedhead macrumors member

    Vedhead

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    #2
    according to your link, its because the MBP only supports 3GB of RAM...so while 4 is installed, 3 is utilized.
     
  3. JWest macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    #3
    That link is referring to the pre-Santa Rosa MBP's. The Santa Rosa and later models support the whole 4GB. It had to do with a chipset limitation. Just look at the date: October 26, 2006.
     
  4. dj420118 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    #4
    Whoa...but everyone seems to be buying 4GB of ram it cant just support 3GB. I thought these new MBP supported 4GB

    O thanks for that disregard my previous post.
     
  5. nikhsub1 macrumors 68000

    nikhsub1

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    mmmm... jessica.'s beer...
  6. dj420118 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    #6
    Well believe it or not the article is still on the front page of the support site for the MBP
     
  7. antmo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    #7
    probably because most people don't plunk down k's on every new architecture upgrade, like a lot do around here :)

    i'm sure there are a ton of people still using pre SR MBP's who question 4gb...

    mjb
     
  8. gothamm macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    #8
    doesnt mean anything. The front page is sorted by the most popular topics/articles.
     
  9. Eraserhead macrumors G4

    Eraserhead

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #9
    I've reported it to Apple, so it'll be updated shortly.

    Otherwise look at [guide]Understanding Intel Mac RAM[/guide]
     

Share This Page